We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back. Great, Clean and Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Traverse City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will Be Back. Great, Clean and Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This Courtyard is very clean and quiet. Clean enough for this asthmatic to stay here safely for extended periods. Quiet for it is away from the busiest traffic. Staff is very friendly and cheerfully helped me with special needs. I felt like family when I stayed here.

The lobby area is intimate and great for small business meetings. There are several semi-private spaces here with semi-curved seating for four or more, a table, television and internet services, both wireless and hard-wired. This is a new style lobby that most Courtyards I've visited do not offer yet.

The Bistro food is fresh, tastes great and made only after ordered in most cases. Well worth the small wait. And, the evening bar is very cozy.

The pool and gym areas are the cleanest I've seen.

A great visit. I actually miss being here and will be back when I am in Traverse City.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcatlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
47
51
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Appears to be an older Courtyard that has been updated with the new lobby and food court breakfast area. The food court concept is something new and fails miserably when compared to Hilton's Garden Inn full service restaurant. But the hotel was extremely clean and the rooms quiet and comfortable. The location was a few miles from the busy downtown area and across from a mall. There are numerous eating choices in the area and the location is actually very convenient. Will stay there again and recommend highly to others traveling in the Traverse City area

Room Tip: Upper floor away from elevator is always the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is the third "redone" Courtyard we have stayed in in the last three months and all have been a pleasant, consistent experience. In addition to a physical makeover with new amenities - it seems to me that the staff and management have been retrained as well. In all three locations we experienced some of the most friendly and courteous employees we have ever met in Marriott properties. We would happily return to this property if we are ever in the Traverse City area again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank awc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Staff here was excellent. Made sure my room had a fridge that I requested and it was a nice little one. Front desk was also willing to freeze some ice packs for me so my cooler would be in good shape for the following day.

Room decor is updated, very nice. Bed was firm, everything was clean. Heating/cooling was older so no thermostat control, but it worked well (aside from cooling being a touch loud)

I would stay here anytime - highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaezae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard after not having made advanced reservations. We are loyal to Intercontinental hotels, but the Marriott is always reliable, clean and attractive.

Hotel had a nice lobby, nice food and an attractive room. Rate was a bit pricy, but at high season and not booking in advance, we weren't surprised.

There are a few very special features of this hotel - would recommend the outdoor patio. Easy to access.

Would recommend the Holiday Inn on the waterfront for a similar rate and better view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolferAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich,CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Modern clean facility with a terrific pool. Convenient location, comfortable beds and a front desk staff that could not be more professional, courteous and helpful. Dave was particularly accommodating and helped us with reservations and other things.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsdadGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at the two Marriott properties in Traverse City on the weekend of the film festival - not by choice; we had not booked in advance and had to take pot luck.

We were disappointed in the Courtyard - especially when compared to the nearby Fairfield by Marriott. The Fairfield was much cheaper, was in better condition and had an excellent included breakfast.

For example, in the shower at the Courtyard, the back panel was coming unglued and had a 12 inch tear. Neither property in Traverse City had a refrigerator although a Fairfield Inn in Bay City, Michigan did. I recall the receptionist at the Traverse City Fairfield saying that they were getting fridges at the rate of two a month.

This is not a bad motel - it just didn't compare favorably to its cousin less than a block away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
6.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Traverse City

Property: Courtyard Traverse City
Address: 3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684-7920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Courtyard in Spring of 2016 features comfy beds surrounded in a modern flair room decor. The Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City offers 83 very clean rooms including King Suites, Queens with 2-beds and King bed accommodations. Travelers can enjoy free Wi-Fi, an on-site Bistro restaurant featuring healthy breakfast items and seasonal dinner options, along with a full bar and nightly drink specials. For coffee lovers, there is a 24-hr.Starbucks, outdoor courtyard with fireplace and an indoor pool and whirlpool. For convenience, a 24-Hr. business center with computer and printer and a 24-Hr. fitness center and market place also available. Located five miles from downtown Traverse City and the Grand Traverse Bay, beaches, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Courtyard
Traverse City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing