We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome samples”
Review of Cherry Republic

Cherry Republic
Ranked #2 of 21 Shopping in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Cherry Republic of Traverse City, a mecca built to honor the northern Michigan cherry and the Up North lifestyle. Located in the 'Cherry Capital of the World' and on one of America's Top 10 Great Streets, our diplomatic embassy is just a block from West Grand Traverse Bay in beautiful downtown Traverse City. Come in and sample over 170 of our locally-made cherry products, grab a seat in our cafe (which serves crispy pizzas, hearty sandwiches, fresh salads, and the best Cherry Pie you've ever had), or grab a glass at our wine/soda bar and sample 24 varieties of wine and soda pop. We're open 7 days a week, all year long. The Embassy is the largest storefront in the historic downtown area so we're hard to miss. It is great destination for people of all ages so we'd love to see the whole family!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awesome samples”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we got some apple butter jam after we had a chance to sample it.
great people and awesome selection of cherry products

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valuerocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    59
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything Cherry!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Cherry Republic is a great place to visit and shop. They have all products cherry!! Since Traverse City is the Cherry Capital of the world- this is where you stop to sample and take home or ship to family and friends cherry products. Every time I visit "home" "Michigan", I try to make it to Traverse city and Cherry Republic!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our favorite stop on every trip to TC”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fabulous samples of all things cherry. The staff keeps all of the sample dishes filled and is willing to help you choose the perfect gifts. They will box it for you and ship it if you wish. Beware the hot chili chocolate covered cherries. Love the dark chocolate cherries, Boomchunka cookies and hot cherry salsa. Try them all and take home your favorites. Oh and get your picture taken in the cherry pit bin. A family tradition each summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything Cherry”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a fun store to pop into. The staff was very friendly, offering up samples of chocolate cherry coffee, cherry salsa, and the oh so good, dark chocolate cherries. I bought a small bag of dark chocolate cherries and now that I'm home I've realized I should have bought the 1 lb. bag!

Helpful?
Thank mcconnell46788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cherry Republic/ the best”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Love this store. Location is great, samples are great, staff is great!! We used to have to go to Glen Arbor so we like having this location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Republic also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Cherry Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing