We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice B&B...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 18 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Really nice B&B...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved it here! Great location, just a short walk from the historic downtown restaurant and shopping area. Immaculate room with comfortable 4-poster bed, wonderful breakfast of vegetable omelet, bacon, smoked salmon with asparagus, homemade bagels, fresh fruit, brewed tea. Its an older house, so it was surprising that even with a full house we couldn't hear other guests in their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWHJER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I'm so glad you had a good visit here in Traverse and at the Oviatt House B&B. You were here in July, - a very busy time in Traverse - It sounds like you really enjoyed yourself and I'm glad we could be a part of it, and that our recommendations of places to visit hit the mark with you too. We have so many exquisite views up here, it sounds like you had a chance to enjoy them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a wonderful experience in Traverse City because I stayed at Oviatt House for the evening. Franny is a fantastic host. She was welcoming and also made great suggestions for activities and places to eat. Breakfast in the morning was amazing. The location is perfect for explorations by foot. I will certainly return to Oviatt House the next time I am in Traverse City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Oviatt House is just a block off of the main street that runs through the historic part of Traverse City. It's not far from the beach, the State Theater, and lots of great restaurants. Frannie is a great cook and host, and very knowledgeable about what to do and see in Traverse City. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because a couple of areas of the house aren't restored to historic quality (a couple of the bathrooms have suspended ceilings, for example.) The bedrooms and parlor are lovely, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRen49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to send in a review. I really appreciate you thoughts and evaluations. I always get new ideas to act on. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Oviatt House and loved it. Franny was a great host and we felt welcomed and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. The location is perfect- a short walk into the center of Traverse City. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We as hosts get much enjoyment out of visiting with our guests - sharing ideas and experiences. And you get to enjoy our great city and relax in our home. What a perfect exchange! Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We journeyed back to my college town for the Cherry Bomb LAX tourney last July. The Oviatte House is a very charming home and is practically downtown TC! Franny and her husband were delightful innkeeper's and we enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely! Breakfasts were scrumptious, served family style. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We returned to the city of my misspent youth (college) for the Cherry Bomb LAX tourney. The locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This location is perfect for strolling along the river into downtown. Franny is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were good, with lots of organic and local food, which we deeply appreciate. There were plenty of vegan and vegetarian options and Franny often left snacks out in the evening. The decor style is antique but that does not mean that functionality should be sacrificed. Our bed jiggled and crackled like crazy and was VERY high, difficult for someone with mobility issues (think vaulting into bed). Oviatt is located on a busy street, which fortunately quieted at night, but there is lots of traffic noise until 7 pm and the windows are original and not very soundproof. There are no side tables by the bed, and otherwise very small flat surfaces to place glasses, toiletries, etc. The rooms are crowded by the sizes of the beds, so you may find yourself squeezing by one another. Franny is clearly working on the house, so things may change in the future. Right now, I would recommend a room at the back (not Lewis or Waldo) and the second floor--the first floor room opens onto the common area.

Room Tip: Back and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I thank you for your comments about the canopy bed. I have taken some action to correct the details outlined in your observations. Actually you are the only guest that had slept in the Lewis room with the higher mattress. I had just tried out a new mattress there in September, but obviously it seemed too high for my guests, and I follow your lead to make additional changes.
We have just installed 2 new pillowtop mattresses in the Lewis room and in the Pierpont room. So now the Lewis room does have a lower bed height (36"), with a new mattress.
We are designing new drapes for all our front rooms to assist in creating quiet rooms for sleeping. I hope you come again to see our changes and try one of our other rooms as well.
There are so many great features about our B & B - proximity to downtown, walking distance to great restaurants, the house is very cozy, and we concentrate on great organic and healthful breakfasts. I am confident that you will be pleased when you come again. Your comments have helped me zone in on some details, to make it even better, so I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This B&B is within walking distance to SO many things downtown...all the restaurants, bars, walking trails, water, beaches, etc that you would want and it makes the trip that much easier to plan knowing you can easily walk to anything you find to do in downtown Traverse City. The house is charming and Franny is so sweet (and cooked some AMAZING breakfasts!).

We had an event early on one of the mornings and she was nice enough to accommodate us by making breakfast 30 minutes earlier than she normally does (which I think is from 8:00-9:30) and had 2 blends of hot coffee waiting for us as soon as we walked downstairs. After we ate, she even wrapped up some of the goodies for us to take with us for our day!

Sharing a bathroom wasnt a problem at all and shouldnt be a reason to deter you if you are nervous about that aspect. The decor is what it is and is accurately depicted on the website. Not our style, but is clean and comfortable and has a certain charm that you would expect from a B&B. Franny also has some local wines and beers in a fridge downstairs by the front door and makes you feel welcome by offering you to help yourself at any time to those items as well as setting out a little afternoon snack each day. Also, helpful "To Do" binders filled with all the local attractions, directions, winery information, tours, etc and Franny is more than helpful with suggestions if you need some help with how to fill your day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KO30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 244 E 8th St, Traverse City, MI 49684-5740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing