We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband, our friends and I were looking forward to our week end away from the kids to enjoy some adult time. Right upon arrival Franny made us feel like we were her own kids. Such a warm inviting place, full of antics and charactere, just like a B&B should feel like. Franny is one of the nicest person we ever met and she made sure we felt confortable. The rooms very very cute and since we were the only guests, we had each our own bathrooms. Also available in each room is a set of key so we can come and go without bothering anyone. The house is at walking distance from the town main street where we enjoyed every second. In the morning, the most amazing breakfast was awaiting us. Being French I am very picky and hate the tipycal continental breakfast with the same old greesy food. We were served like kings, french pastries such as Pains au chocolat and Croissants fresh from the local bakery (it felt like I was back home in France) home made waffles, bread, fruits, yogurts, omelettes, coffee, jams, all locally made! Franny will keep you company without imposing on your private conversation. Great company, very nice cosy place, will definitly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for one night. It was a great experience. The B&B is within walking distance of just about everything in the downtown, as well as some lovely trails, and the house itself is charming, comfortable, and above all, CLEAN! We stayed in the Grose Room, which has its own private bath and a private entrance, as well. Our daughter is 6 months-old, and we wrote to the owners before booking a room to see whether they allowed infants. They were very accommodating, and someone even offered to look after our baby so both my husband and I could enjoy our breakfast in peace!

The breakfast was truly delicious--fresh eggs from a local farmer, just-baked muffins, granola, yogurt, and more. Ken, one of the owners, was there (the other owner was out of town), and he was very welcoming and had a wealth of knowledge about the area; my husband and I greatly enjoyed talking to him. The entire experience couldn't have been nicer, and I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Traverse City!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A group of us stayed the beginning of June. The B&B was AWESOME!!! Franny was delightful and very helpful in suggesting attractions to see in the area. The breakfast was outta this world; it was organic and homemade and adjusted for those had preferences. The price was so low...I felt as I only paid for breakfast and the Bed was free. We did a wine tour on Sat. and Franny made accommodations for a knowledgeable driver to take us to the wineries. We are planning on making this a yearly girls outing. I would highly recommend staying here versus any hotel! THANKS FRANNY!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Most amazing B&B breakfast every had. All organic food. Super friendly, clean and welcoming atmosphere. Cold beverages left for us in the fridge. Felt like home but better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33Jessica_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Franny and Ken are gifted at bringing people together. It was like visiting with family. Breakfast was wonderful each of the four days we were there.

We stayed in the Langley Rm. The bed was very comfortable, and the shared bath was not a problem.

The Oviatt House is not a hotel, it is a family home. We are very glad that Franny and Ken have opened their home to others, and we will be sure to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This B&B was such a great hidden gem. The owners were so sweet and attentive, the food was excellent (organic and local) there were local wines to relax to in the evening with a light snack, breakfast was very delightful with fresh made juices and both fresh fruits and yogurt and also a hot breakfast as well. The bed was extremely comfortable and room was decent sized, the shared bathroom was less of a challenge than I anticipated and the price was superb! Only 2 blovks walk to downtown Traverse city and a close drive to many wonderful wineries!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The owner of this B&B Frannie and Ken were wonderful. First the breakfast was a
5 star. They accommodated my dairy allergies. Everything was home made and delicious. When we checked in we were welcomed with local wines and beer. It was such a warm welcome.

We slept in the Waldo room. Comfortable room with a queen size bed. Room and
bathroom were clean. Good prices.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
217 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 244 E 8th St, Traverse City, MI 49684-5740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing