We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop every trip”

Slabtown Cafe and Burgers
Ranked #4 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First stop every trip”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This is usually our first and sometimes last stop in town. We have yet to have a bad burger and we've tried most everything on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank spiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    101
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A perfect spot to grab a quick bite...sandwiches, burgers, soup/chili, milk shakes. Indoor and outdoor seating. You order from their posted menu at the counter then find your seat and they bring your food to you very quickly. Delicious buns and great fries (french or very excellent sweet potato). I had the Big Bird (a turkey sandwich) which was very good. The burgers looked amazing and my family said those were excellent. It is off the beaten path. A local place in a neighborhood. Parking is on the street. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. They have crafted sodas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local burger joint”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

As Slabtown is right down the street from us we can easily see how busy it is, wait for a quiet time (there are few) and grab a burger and fries to take back and sit on our patio and enjoy. The place is fun, people are friendly and food is good. If you are passing through town this is a good place to stop and watch the locals. If you are a local the tourists are entertaining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Go straight for the greasy - don't bother with the healthy stuff. Fantastic burger joint! Location is a little ways from downtown, but worth it. Grab a burger and eat it while walking back to town on the TART trail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stumbled on this restaurant at 11:30 on a wet Saturday. The place was PACKED. It is small and cozy inside and they do a bustling business. I expected to only see burgers on the menu, but there is quite a nice variety for non-meat eaters. We got the Slabtown burger, and didn't have to eat for the rest of the day. The root beer is from a little keg and the soft drinks are locally made. Fries were hand done and quite good. Great find!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlrmanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slabtown Cafe and Burgers also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Slabtown Cafe and Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing