We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slabtown Cafe and Burgers

Slabtown Cafe and Burgers
Ranked #4 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a fun site, playing on the slab town roots of the area (lumber slabs used to build the first neighborhood there, just check out the pictures on the wall for an interesting history lesson). That being said, we came here for the food and keep coming back for it whenever we're looking for burgers. Favorites are an amazing cherry burger and the Abe. Great place to relax outside and enjoy the best burgers in town.

Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    90
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious homestyled burgers, but I go for the soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

HomeBoy and I visited Slabtown with the pup for the first time several weeks ago. I know, I know, but we just moved here and honestly questioned a restaurant set in a house. Consider me corrected.
The burgers are simple and mouth-watering and the root beer is spectacular. I would like to suggest that Slabtown ease up on the refill charge for said root beer considering it's so frothy you waste 10 minutes trying to get a full cup. Anyway.
But, when the weather turns cooler, my thoughts turn to their soup. They change them often, but I'm actively waiting for a return of the white bean chicken chili. It was so delicious that we bought two quarts and had it for days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best blackbean burger--EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have been coming here since they opened and the place never fails to amaze me on how good their blackbean burger is, and their fries are worth every calorie/fat gram!!!! Every year that we return they seem to have added more outside space so the place now has a following--good for them!!! They have the friendliest staff, too! and their pop is from a local Michigan place. It was definitely jamming the night we were there, Have not had a bad time here yet--

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“HARD- TO- BEAT BURGER, SERVED UP FAST, FRESH, AND HOT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Quite simply, great, well-priced, quickly served burgers, sandwiches, soups, and salads. We were confronted with a big line and debated whether to stay; so glad we did! We really were served quickly; they must have quite the system to handle the "lunch crunch"!
Burgers are great, with thick-cut home-style french fries served in a basket; enough for two. In the past, have enjoyed their sandwiches and chicken salad. This trip I tried the white chicken chili; it was very, very good. Great flavor, full of chunks of chicken, and beans.
The setting, an old house, makes a unique atmosphere. We easily found a table outside and sat down and enjoyed our lunch. Our order was brought to the table. Delicious!
I think the friendly staff is well-trained, and - importantly - able to serve your order quickly. Located on Front Street, but west of Division (away from the busier downtown section). We were able to park behind the restaurant and noticed streetside parking available. We will return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDolceDiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best cherry and blue cheese burger ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a find this place was! We were hungry after a day at the beautiful sandy beaches in the area and wanted something different. We hit the jackpot with this place. Delicious burgers with either tater tots or fries really hit the spot. It's located a bit off the beaten path but worth the extra 2 minute drive from downtown to get there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slabtown Cafe and Burgers also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Slabtown Cafe and Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing