We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for breakfast”
Review of Happy Hog Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy Hog Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hell, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had an enjoyable breakfast here on a Sunday morning. The pecan rolls were delicous and the omlets gave us some good stamina for the day. The service was great and the waitstaff was friendly. If you are in TC and want to go out for breakfast then I highly recommend the Happy Hog Cafe

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good 'n greasy”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Loved the homemade breads. Both breakfast and lunch are good. A little on the greasy side. BLT and burgers are delicious. Atmosphere is motorcycle decor. Limited seating. Cinnamon and pecan rolls are what brought us in.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is open!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great breakfast! But get there early of the cinnamon and pecan rolls will be gone. We had the hash-brown scrambler and an egg white only omelet with spinach, bacon and feta. No need to order a side of bacon there was plenty in the omelet!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanieP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mmm Breakfast”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stopped here on our way out of town for a quick breakfast. It was very good. Our eggs were cooked perfectly (over medium) and I'm always surprised when a restaurant can pull that off. Generally places just give you an over easy egg. The rest of classic breakfast was tasty too. The coffee was a little strong for my taste. The service was quick and friendly, parking was easy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firelement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went there early on a Sunday morning so we were seated right away. The service was good and the meals were large and delicious. The crowds were coming in just as we were finishing up. There did seem to be some confusion over the waiting list and seating so try to get there when it's not so busy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne4066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Hog Cafe also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing