We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bread in TC.”
Review of Bay Bread Co

Bay Bread Co
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned bakery cafe. All natural, from scratch, freshly baked 40+ different varieties of artisan breads baked daily. Breakfast and lunch sandwiches, soup and salad. Espresso Bar up in the Roost. Stop in to see an old fashioned bakery work in progress. Staff waits on you as they multitask baking fresh cookies, scones, biscotti, granola, etc. From our families to yours, naturally. Beautiful view of West Bay up in the Roost or from inside the bakery.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best bread in TC.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I hope they last since they really don't charge enough. Talk about a best buy! Let's hope they don't read this.

They have a great variety of breads, and some cookies, muffins, cinnamon roles, etc. Baked fresh daily and it's all very good.

They also make sandwiches that are very good.

The staff often seems tired and not too happy to be there but maybe it's because they have to get up at 4 am every day to bake the bread. I go there all the time and I've lived here 14 years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TCtruthteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great bread, great food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Like the others writers, stopped by for lunch but ended up with some of our party eating breakfast and others eating lunch. The bakery downstairs is busy and offers many choices of breads, cookies, etc. Ordered our meals and waited upstairs for them to be delivered. Enjoyed a view of the bay while we ate. Recommended by a local as a "must visit" and I agree!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightbythesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little Bakery, Big Flavors!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Went in to check this little place out and they had a lot of choices in breads and menu. Sitting in the main entrance is small, but they have a larger sitting area upstairs, that when you order and go find a table they will come up to bring you your order. Quick service. Would go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZSTAFFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hot Spot!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great spot for breakfast or lunch. The bread is good beyond belief, especially the Blue Cheese french style. They have two or three soups warm and cold sandwiches as well breakfast sandwiches that are very good. They are large enough to split. There is also a nice area to eat upstairs that is warm and inviting. A must visit if you are visiting town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tedlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We purchased the asiago and garlic loaf. It is delicious! There are actual chunks of garlic baked throughout the loaf. The smell is intoxicating and the flavor is spot on!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Borissgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Bread Co also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Bay Bread Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing