We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Village

If you love history this is a great place to visit. The parking lot was a bit congested and small... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Jane B
,
Macomb, Michigan
via mobile
Great tours

My family took 2 of the tours on the 12th. A great experience learning about the history of... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Tracy F
,
grand rapids mi, United States
Read all 1,128 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Traverse City
from $59.00
More Info
from $10.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveler rating
683
298
106
30
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
683
298
106
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state hospital mental health insane asylum trattoria stella twilight tour farmers market shops and restaurants cheesecake left foot interesting tour the lower level walking tour unique shops interesting place grounds are beautiful hiking trails hour tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The guided tour was awesome. Our tour guide Vanessa did an amazing job. There was so much interesting information and stories. A must to visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful grounds well kept. This is a community housing, hospital area. It is shopping a dinning only.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 767Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just driving by is even worth it! When we went we toured the grounds and also did a building tour of the old unused buildings. It was amazing to see! We even got to go into the underground tunnel. The history is amazing and there is so much to see!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank tamaralww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our visit to this old Asylum. The buildings are just gorgeous and I enjoyed talking photos. We loved the tour and all the history we learned. Vanessa was our tour guide and we felt she had a lot of personal info to share but maybe told a few too many personal stories that didn't relate. However, we would recommend this to anyone in the area. Seeing the renovations, and then seeing an old building which is now being worked on was very interesting, and so were the stories about treatment and the theory of the Kirkbride method. We loved the tunnel at the end. Some reviewers mentioned that it was too long and difficult to stand, but we had no problems, although we both have knee issues. We also enjoyed shopping at the stores and having lunch after the tour.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank MaribethB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a fascinating tour. Cool info. I thought it would be scary or spooky but, it wasn’t. They focused on the positive aspects of the Kirkbride method of institutionalization. I love that the proceeds of this tour go to the revitalization of the building. Knowing that info makes me happy to pay the fee.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JessicaD746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews