We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place”

The Village at Grand Traverse Commons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old state asylum that is being renovated into shops, restaurants, wineries, and more...lots to look at, including tons of trails to walk, bike, ski, etc.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a great place to go wander around and check out locally made artworks, clothing, etc. But, EVERYTHING IS SO EXPENSIVE!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iris981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    203
    71
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great renovation concept!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The shops and shopkeepers were fabulous. The eateries were very inviting. You must make this a stop if ever in Traverse City, MI.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SweetPea2bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful & fascinating adaptation of historic facility”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is not just another shopping mall! The Village is a historic preservation & adaptive reuse of the former Traverse City State Hospital which operated for more than 100 years in dozens of buildings on over 63 acres. The adaptive reuse is still underway and includes residential & commercial use.

We spent two hours here and were pleasantly surprised at the locally owned stores (thankfully not a single chain store here!), the restaurants, variety of art work displayed and the historical displays.

I think this place will continue to get better as more of the buildings are restored & become occupied.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Our vacay rental is nicest we've had”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We've been staying in vacation rentals once or twice a year for the past few years, and the one we rented in Building 50 is the nicest and cleanest. The owners provided every essential we needed, and their contract was the shortest and simplest (others have multiple page agreements that are sometimes longer than the one-year apartment leases my company issues and equally intimidating). It's an indication of a level of trust by the owners that we tried very hard not to violate. This unit was spotless and beautifully decorated in a contemorary style with very high ceilings. The bed seemed a bit smaller than our queen bed at home, but the pillow top mattress made it comfortable.

This complex, an historic mental hospital with gorgeous architecture, is still under renovation. There are a few gift shops right inside the building, and a wonderful little bakery, a cheesecake shop, a wine bar, a coffee shop and a hospital are a short walk away. There are also a few great eateries in the complex. The one other thing we could have used was a general store to get food staples (milk, tea, pasta, etc.) and OTC meds. However, our thoughtful host provided many condiments, coffee and tea, soap and shampoo, and even a bottle of wine (extra bottles are present at an extra charge). They also supplied the unit with DVDs.

The complex is huge and set far enough from the main streets, so it is quiet. However, construction in progress means loud heavy equipment noise in some areas. It's only a couple blocks from Division St., and less than a couple minute's drive to Traverse Bay.

I highly recommend this rental, but reserve early, as it seems to be popular. http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286686

Helpful?
1 Thank bsfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You gotta see it...”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is an innovative alternative reuse project by Minervini Associates--our old State Hospital buildings brought back to life and revitalized with boutique shops and fine eateries. Stella Trattoria is great for a formal dinner, but don't miss Manna--tucked a little further back in Building 50, where Chef Ralph whips up his signature southern cuisine and delicious, rich desserts. Don't eat too much to fit into the cool fashions at Boutique a la Vie, and pick up a souvenir for your hard to shop for friend at Gallery 50.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RJJontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village at Grand Traverse Commons also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Village at Grand Traverse Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing