We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Left Foot Charley Winery

Left Foot Charley Winery
Ranked #23 of 106 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Left Foot Charley is a winery like no other. In lieu of the single estate model, LFC is a collection of grape and apple growers located throughout Northern Michigan dedicated to growing fruit for our wine and cider. Located in the urban setting of the former Traverse City State Hospital campus known as The Village, LFC creates an array of balanced white wine, red wine, and hard cider. Every bottle tells the story of the farm, the vintage and the winemaker's dream of sharing it all with you.
Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place was okay. Wine was just okay. We did purchase 2 bottles. Due to the fact of where this winery is located, we purchased the murmur and 2 spires. Didn't quite care for their servers behind the bar. When they had time to talk with you, seemed very knowledge about their wines but otherwise, just didn't seem to want to be bothered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dllbzrose_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Find at Grand Traverse Commons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stumbled upon LFC while browsing around The Village and were SO glad we went there. Their wine selection was good and we were sad that they only had one cider to try because of the poor apple season. While some of the bar tenders tried a bit too much while others didn't seem to care the overall experience was fun. Great history and intrigue and a great tasting! We reccommend Murmur or the Missing Spire....yummy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunnyamylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average wines from an interesting place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The winery is in the middle of the Grand Traverse Commons which gives it an interesting setting, but the wines were just average. The staff was hit or miss as to their interest in the customers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lost.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A fun place, a limited selection of wines. Interesting history. If you can find the place. With a GPS in my car, and another in my hand, we couldn't find it. Had to call and have them direct us as we drove. Wine good tho!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mlaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cool place to stop for wine tasting or just a glass!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This winery is a great place to pop into for a tasting or a glass.. it is located in the village among a lot of other neat places.. the wine tasting allows you to find your favorite and since my hubby is not a wine drinker..he swears by the spiced hard apple cider!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Foot Charley Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Left Foot Charley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing