We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spirits and Fantastic Staff!”

Grand Traverse Distillery
Ranked #17 of 111 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Grand Traverse Distillery is Michigan's oldest craft distillery and we are family owned. We use 100% locally grown corn, wheat and rye to distill our award winning spirits which include the True North Vodkas [Rye, Wheat, Cherry, Chocolate & Chipotle], Gin, Rum and our Whiskies [Ole George 100% Rye, Bourbon, as well as many small batch specialty ones]. We also offer 100 Proof Michigan White Dog Whiskey We have 5 Tasting Rooms located throughout the state in Traverse City, Frankenmuth, Leland,Grand Rapids and Ann Arbor so you can stop by and have the Grand Traverse Distillery experience and enjoy tastings and cocktails. We also have joint Tasting Rooms with Black Star Farms Winery where you will find both of our products and be able to taste and have a cocktail. Our Main Distillery Tasting Room is open Monday through Saturday 11-a.m. to 5:30-p.m and is closed Sundays. We offer tours 6 days a week at 1:00 pm & 3:00 pm from May 1 through August 31. October 1 through April 30 tours are offered only on Fridays and Saturdays. Cheers, Kent Rabish!
Interlochen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spirits and Fantastic Staff!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Not only do you get to sample some of the best spirits in the area - the staff is very knowledgeable and more than willing to help you learn about the different products and why they are unique. The cherry vodka and the old George are two of my favorites!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank melbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent R, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review! We enjoy giving information on how we distill our spirits and talking with customers. Come back again. Cheers Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    9
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clio, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made in Mich.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The flavors of the Vodkas, and the fact that their products are made in Mich. and use all Mich. grains to make their products.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent R, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Sherry
Thanks for coming in to see us. As of now we have bought and mashed over 900,000 pounds of grain grown in Michigan. 90% of it was grown on a farm about 10 miles from the distillery. We support Michigan agriculture and thank you for supporting us!
Cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Christopher was a great tour guide learned about the process in making whisky and vodka! We bought a barrel to make bourban at home ;)

Helpful?
Thank Vero7rdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent R, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for taking time to enter a review on your distillery visit. Chris does a great job for us in the retail room and helps us at times in the production area. We enjoy showing people what we do and how spirits are made. From grain to bottle we do it all in 4,000sf.
Cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Did You Know ?”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Did you know there is a distillery in Traverse City. They make both Vodkas & Whiskey. The tour is very interesting & they allow samples of the Vodkas. You can also purchase there. It only takes less than a hour to visit after you find it, but we enjoyed it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMMAYOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent R, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for taking time to come in! People call and ask how long a tour will take, as you mentioned if you have an hour or less you have enough time to come in. The tours can take as little as 10 min if someone is in a hurry or a 15 to 20 min if we are not pushed for time. Thanks for the kind review!
Cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Butcher, the Baker, and now the Distiller”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Food (and drink) just taste better when I've seen both the product and the craftsman together. Walk into my local bakery and I walk away with not just a loaf of bread but also the lingering warmth of the ovens and sweet fragrance of freshly baked bread. That's how it was with GT Distillery. I no longer see just a bottle of bourbon. I now see tanks of fermenting rye, corn, and malted barley. I see tall warm copper vessels distilling clear spirits. I smell the oak of barrels where the spirits mature. I highly recommend visiting GT Distillery. Get to know the process. Ask questions. The tour won't take long but your appreciation for the product will last a lifetime.

Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent R, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Jon
Thanks for taking time to send a review in of our distillery. We enjoy showing people what we do and that 100% of our corn, rye, and wheat is grown in the Grand Traverse area. Local, local, local. We have some new whiskey products coming out in the future and should have our first gin in the 1st quarter of 2013. Rum also on the production calendar in 2013.
Cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Distillery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing