We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Customer Returns for 2nd Stay”
Review of Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sierra Motel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012, VERY pleased. Rooms were clean, friendly staff, and great prices. Just stayed there April 5-7, again very pleased. If you are looking for a CLEAN room this is the place. We'll be back in the fall. Donna

Room Tip: Like that you can park right by your room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We at Sierra Motel would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our page at TripAdvisor.com .We appreciate your business and hope to see you again real soon.

sincerely.Slim,Connie and Hugo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Sierra Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

In search of a place to stay I pulled over because the sign out front said 'Clean, Cleaner, Cleanest' and the sign didn't lie.

Clean room, comfortable, good wi-fi and cable, convenient to downtown, safe, and super friendly service. I like that the windows open. Great price, trustworthy, safe, friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We at Sierra Motel would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our page at TripAdvisor.com We appreciate your business and hope to see you again real soon.

sincerely.Slim,Connie and hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a great experience at Sierra Motel. The staff was nice, the room I stayed in was very clean, and it was only a few minutes away from downtown. I definitely recommend it to anybody looking for an affordable, clean and trustworthy motel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcamila428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013
Google Translation

gracias por tomar el tiempo de escribir el reviw, espero haya sido placentera tu estadia con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you're looking for a good night's sleep in an EXTRAORDINARILY clean room at a very affordable rate, the Sierra Motel is an excellent choice. The Sierra is a typical older Michigan motel - wreaths of artificial flowers on the walls, knotty pine ceilings, rubber backed drapes, functional chairs, a desk, and small rooms. (If you're over 6'2" tall, you can probably sit on the toilet and put your feet in the shower). However, it is VERY well maintained and VERY clean. Room 113's linens were fresh, the mattress comfortable, the carpet clean, the small but adequate bathroom spotless, the water in the shower hot and plentiful, and the room VERY soundproof. The room amenities - small frig, microwave, in-room coffee pot, bedside clock, TV, hair dryer. This is not the place for you if you need a large room, a pool, a view of the bay, a "free" breakfast, or even a bathtub in order to be happy. However, if you are looking for a spotless, inexpensive, comfortable, quiet little motel to get a good night's sleep in Traverse City, you can't do better than the Sierra. Added plus - the owner is friendly and genuinely customer oriented. Call direct to negotiate best rate. Bottom line - the Sierra is the kind of place guidebooks like Frommer's and Fodor's highly recommend for the budget conscious traveler!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Michiganders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We selected this little motel based on reviews. We were not that impressed. It was clean, but that was about it. I went to the office about 7:30 pm to ask for another pillow (only two flat ones were provided). I had to ring the bell and wait about 10 minutes (I could hear the TV in the attached living area) before someone showed up to see what I wanted. The room and furniture was old and worn. No continental breakfast (the office was dark when we left at about 7:30 am). The price was reasonable, but after looking at some of the other nearby hotels/motels I think we could've gotten a more modern accomodation with a breakfast for the same or near the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spingor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

if you're a road warrior you have to suffer the indifferent front desk slug at the chain hotels. not so at the sierra. connie and her family look after your needs and comfort. the place is spotless inside and out, good wifi and amenities. cozy would be the word. thanks connie, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I cannot wait for my next stay at Sierra. I looked at 7 places and what immediately impressed me was the friendly smiles from owner Connie and her son Hugo. My mouth just dropped open when I opened the door of my room as it was so clean I was afraid to step in :-) I liked that it is small as there was biker festival and I did not want to stay at bigger motel,/inns.Connie and Hugo were so accommodating and allowed me to check in early and Connie even called me to tell me room was ready. I cannot say enough . Only minor suggestions are to have do not disturb door sign and would trade my reclinerfor small round table and chairs to have my meals. Just adore this gem on the strip! London Tourist

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewrockstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
2.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Motel

Address: 230 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing