We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price”
Review of Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sierra Motel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night. Tried to find a low cost motel on the main drag, and this motel fit the bill. Room was large enough, with a nice large flat panel TV, refrigerator, microware and desk. This site had the fastest Wi-Fi of all the motels we stayed at in Michigan. It was under $100 and clean. Only complaint was the small bathroom. Tiny is a generous term. Don’t know if it’s the same size in all the other rooms, but it was okay for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FoodYum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Sierra Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 123 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

First time here, very clean and homey. Will go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yzf1k97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrive here after a very long journey down from the U.P. Room was fine for one night, although 3 adults sharing 2 queen beds was a bit cramped, however I knew about this when I booked. Room was very clean, and the area was quite noisy, but felt very safe.

Lovely friendly owners which as other reviewers have stated is the real bonus of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We walked out of a "biggie chain" and, by chance, found Sierra. The owners are on-site. It has no pool, no gym, no USA Today. BUT it is ultra clean, great bedding, quiet, and extremely well managed. You won't find bikers or semi's but you'll find owners who really care and are very proud of their property. Our room had a fridge, microwave, flatscreen TV. Before we checked-in, Cony insisted we examine the room first and she took us and went through the room with us. The property is unpretentious but DO NOT pass it up. This is probably the cleanest, most comfortable room we'ver stayed in. Their rates for the 2 weekend days were 25% to 60% cheaper than anything we looked at.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dutch1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a mom and pop motel with a very convenient location in TC. For service and friendliness I give a definite 5. The owner chatted us up, and as a previous reviewer stated, I asked her how she met her DH. The story is cute and charming and she makes you laugh. She also made a rather large mistake with our bill and promptly fixed it, of course, but told us about it, showed us her receipt book, etc. They also had the room ready for us early, as we had a wedding to attend.

We were on the first floor. The room was very clean. Two queen beds that were very comfortable. Nightstand between them with one drawer. Alarm clock. Window A/C unit-worked, but not that well. Lot of light in the windows from both front and back. We needed and used our floor fan we take wherever we go. There is a small frig and microwave and both worked fine. One padded chair by window. Another padded chair by desk, and a small desk (not a real desk, as in a piece of furniture, just a tabletop attached to the wall) chair. Coffee pot sits here and there are plugs-yeah. Mirror. One luggage rack under metal hanging rods for clothes-several wooden hangars.

Flat screen TV on another tabletop in corner of room-good reception. Bathroom is the negative here. Very small. No place to put your things except maybe your toothbrush..very small counter space. Decent towels. Stand up shower only. The toilet placement is more than inconvenient as far as spacing with the sink and counter space. Very odd. And don't move too much on that seat-it swivels a lot-LOL! Good water pressure.

They provide you with two plastic white chairs in front of each room, a nice addition-most motels no longer do this.

Everything did work-the remote, lights, plugs, phone (old phone), locks. It was quiet, though we were on the very busy street, just a few doors down from it. We turned that floor fan on high so we could not hear all the noise in the morning. We checked out about 20 minutes late and called the office to inform them and she told us to take all the time we needed.

Excellent customer service. That is their motto. They have it written on their desk in the office and they carry that through in their work and attitude. Would return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I needed a place to stay while visiting my daughter who was studying at Interlochen and though I would have liked something closer this is where I ended up. Sometimes fate hands you a jewel when you expect a rock. This was far better than any of the motel chains and when they say the rooms are clean they are spotless. I often cringe when I enter the bathroom at a motel but here it was so clean it was actually inviting, if you can say that about a bathroom. The room was spacious with small refrig and microwave and writing desk and even a very comfortable recliner. The owners were very pleasant and I suspect potential renters may be put off by Cony's accent (she's originally from Colombia) but don't be, she's the ingredient that makes this jewel shine (ask her about how she met Slim) I highly recommend the Sierra for anybody visiting the Traverse City area. Two Thumbs Up!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

A group of 8 bicycle riders and 2 sag drivers happened upon this little find in Traverse City. The rooms were more than what we needed for a one-night stay, very clean, well-kept motel, around and near everything in Traverse City and the rates were very reasonable during peak season. The owners were very helpful, kind, friendly and fun to be around. It was a perfect stop for us and we will return here and would advise you to also!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandmaCheryl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
2.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Motel

Address: 230 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing