We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Traverse City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Food is good service not so much”
Review of Slate

Slate
Ranked #154 of 330 Restaurants in Traverse City
Price range: $9 - $54
Description: Slate emphasizes a limited "chalkboard" menu of prime cuts, fresh seafood and a curated range of soups, salads, and appetizers.
Restaurant details
Description: Slate emphasizes a limited "chalkboard" menu of prime cuts, fresh seafood and a curated range of soups, salads, and appetizers.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very impressed with the crab cake appetizer and the salmon entree. Was delicious. Not so impressed by the ceaser salad (seemed store bought). You would think that a restaurant that is considered fine dining would make everything (including the dressing) from scratch.

There were only four other tables dining yet it took 10 minutes for our waiter to address us, it took a long time between visits to our table, our water glasses remained empty, the cocktails were weak and it took 15 minutes to get our bill.

Our experience would have been greatly enhanced had our waiter been as good as the food.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Fearless11315560988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2019

My husband & I enjoyed a very delicious dinner here & will return the next time we are in TC. They make an excellent martini & with it we had the crudo which was also very good. My husband had the ribeye which was cooked perfectly. I ordered the halibut which they happened to be out of but served mahi mahi instead which was very good. We shared a side of cremini mushrooms which is a large portion for 2 people. We were too full to try dessert. Food & service was excellent.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Mindz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019 via mobile

Slate is located in what I would call downtown across from the nostalgic State theatre. Snow lined streets, duh it’s December, with limited parking so plan accordingly.

Ann Marie was the bartender and my server. She did a great job asshe was covering a large party table and a couple other tables.

Good wine list. Great meal of tremendous chopped salad and perfectly grilled filet with side of creamy risotto. Pricey at $100 inc 2 glasses of $10 Chianti, but we’ll worth it.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank DonaldR737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

Great food and drinks.
Steaks are the best. Soup and salad with great bread
The bar offers small meals and had mushrooms pizza for something light for my second visit. Both times were delicious.
Looking forward to returning and having dinner again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ToledoMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

Atmosphere was nice. Service was excellent. This restaurant is a steakhouse, and the steaks were perfectly prepared. I would recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dnh3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing