We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Better than most”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Room was pretty nice, only complaint would be the A/C unit, even when turned down, it made a humming noise of varying pitch, quiet, but noticable. Two TV's were nice. Room was clean and quiet. Beds were comfortable. Nice place, great lobby, parking lot a little tight, but usable. Breakfast was good, and inexpensive, but for the price of the room I would think it could have been complimentary. Coffee was free, but if you wanted something as simple as a glass of juice, you had to buy the entire breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michigander311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    110
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
162
237
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

I picked this hotel over the many others nearby (mostly resorts) along the bay with private beaches, because the others had mixed reviews that Cambria did not, and the price here was much lower. A nice room, as reviewers more consistently described were at the Cambria, is important to us. A spectacular view is too, but room quality and price trumped the other hotels. I agree with the positive comments of other reviewers, as well as a couple negative comments. The negatives are the noisiness of the AC system and inconsistency of housekeeping. The rooms are very clean, but there was a day or two when our coffee and paper product supplies were not replenished, and we had to make requests for them. Although I didn't notice dirty surfaces where it's most important (places we touch, like the bathroom floor and counter, which I'm picky about), there were some neglected spots, like the mirror frame and under the vanity/table. No big deal. The decor is cool, the king bed is comfy, the separate sitting are is nice, the bathroom is large with plenty of extras. The noise, however, can be a deal breaker. I asked for a quiet room, so they put us on the top floor, but they placed us in a room facing the busiest street in town. Loud traffic and a whistling, rumbling AC disturbed our sleep.

Don't discount the cafe on-site. The $8 all-you-can-eat full breakfast is a great bargain, and dinner there was surpisingly good. The man serving dinner was really nice and friendly. The Mac & Cheese was very buttery and tasty, and the pizza was reasonably good. Plus, you can return quickly to your room after a meal there to rest or freshen up, and put your leftovers in the frig for later. You can borrow a plate from the cafe to reheat the food in your micro. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Reviewer sunbaby40 paid $300/night a few weeks before we got there, but we averaged under $200, even after fees (if you are so unhappy with the hotel, why the decent rating?). Reviewer blootnik complained about parking, but we found spaces easily at all hours. When spaces along the entrance side filled up, we parked by the condos at the end of the lot (we asked at the desk if that was OK first, and we were told the hotel owns all of the property surrounding the hotel where there were plenty of spaces). I would consider staying again, but in a quieter room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, usa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Cambria Suites for one night on our way to Mackinac Island. It was the perfect spot for us. Clean, comfortable, nicely appointed rooms. Kids each had their own bed. A nice indoor pool. An appropriately priced, easy breakfast buffet. We were not there long but our experience was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed 2 nights. Had a great time. Room was spacious, clean, loved the layout, and the decor, it was really modern. The beds were super comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and I didn't notice any of the sound problems that other people mentioned. We would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our room (a "king suite") was small, but very pleasant, and the bed was very comfortable. Avoid the restaurant though. It's about 30 minutes drive to Interlochen, a 5 minute drive to Traverse City, and a short walk to the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

My wife and I have never booked at the Cambria Suites prior to this vacation, but we were pleased with our stay. After doing my online homework, it was the newness and cleanliness of this hotel which were it's selling features. It didn't disappoint! It is advertised as an entirely smoke free hotel, and that is very apparent at first 'whiff.' Many times we've booked non smoking rooms at other hotels only to open our room to the stale smell of cigarettes. There wasn't even a hint here. The room was spacious enough for the two of us, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was great -- a walk-in with no damp curtain or troubling slide! I enjoyed the little desk for using my computer, and my wife enjoyed the little couch to watch a few of her favorite shows. The LG flat screen TV's were really nice. We specifically asked for a higher than ground level room [ours was 3rd floor] that was quiet, and except for a minor annoying noise from the plumbing or AC [we couldn't determine which], it was very quiet. This hotel comes with a bar and restaurant in the lobby area which we didn't use. Why not? With as many great restaurants as Traverse City has there was just no need! The negatives? First, if you like the hotels with a free breakfast, this isn't one of them [$7.95]. It didn't bother us because we preferred to eat our breakfast at the Grand Traverse Pie Company [Bakery]. Secondly, I am wondering just who this hotel really caters to? It's nice as I have stated, but for the extra cost [about $40 to 60 more than the usual branded chain hotels], I am not sure what you are getting. I've stayed at a Westin for that price and got the experience which one expects. New is good, but that is soon to be short lived as the months pass by. The maid service was inconsistent: because we didn't ask to change the linens daily [the 'green choice'] the bed wasn't made except how we tidied it when we left in the morning. The trash cans weren't always emptied, and the drinking glasses [real glass, and not plastic cups] weren't replaced with clean ones consistently. And lastly, the parking was definitely odd. There did not appear to be enough parking slots for all the hotel guests, so the overflow lot was this area of pavement which appeared to be remaining from the previous structure [before this new one was built]. And, in the back of the hotel were apartments, which made you leery of parking there [like maybe they'd tow your vehicle]. Maybe I am being too critical, but for the extra money one pays to stay there, you should not have to fend for parking, and at least the daily room cleaning should be top notch [hey, I don't expect the chocolate on the pillow, OK]. So my biggest criticism is this: for a higher dollar should come a higher level of service expectation, especially when the place is being advertised as new and trendy. Overall, a good experience and we would stay there again without much debate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blootnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I picked this hotel based upon the TripAdvisor reviews, and I must agree with what I read. This is an excellent, new hotel, just east of the downtown strip/beaches/etc. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyonking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City

Property: Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Address: 255 Munson Ave # US-31, Traverse City, MI 49686-3079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Cambria Suites(R) hotel provides luxury accommodations in the charming coastal town of Traverse City, and is the perfect place to stay for corporate or leisure travelers.Our Cambria Suites luxury hotel offers both business and leisure travelers exclusive amenities that will make you feel right at home, including: Full service Restaurant, Reflect Bistro, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with Happy Hour daily from 4 to 7 pm, state of the art fitness center, free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable, complimentary Shuttle Service and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing