We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankenmuth, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed here one night to try it after great reviews on Trip Advisor because we have a boat and needed to stay one night somewhere before we met up with friends and thought we would try it. This place feels like a W Hotel. We travel quite a bit and must stay this is right up there with hotels we have paid over $250 per night. The beds were comfortable and the room was very "hip and mod"! It felt very comfortable and the amenities are Bath and Body products that is such a plus for us women. All in all try the Cambria you will enjoy it! The breakfast buffet was awesome and we don't usually eat buffet food, so that was another plus!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    110
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
162
237
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

This is a nice new hotel. It is very well appointed and staffed with nice people. The price was reasonable, too.

Food service was adequate. Fairly good brakgfast buffet, but the dinner menu is somewhat llimited. That was not a big problem, because Traverse City has some great restaurants.

All in all, our one week stay was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeezerCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby township Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Absolutely the greatest...We travel a lot and this is by far the finest hotel we've experienced yet. Staff was incredibly helpful in all ways. We needed dinner advice and we got it with directions and maps included. Room was fantastic, two flat screen TVs, wonderful shower, fantastically clean throughout. We went to Traverse City to see the sights. We will return to Traverse City just to stay at Cambria Suites, anything we do and see while we're there will be secondary.....Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtravis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Staying here was the best decision, I ever made...The rooms are so spacious, and the food is great! Buffet well worth the money! Loved the front desk staff, very helpful with great recommendations on where to eat dinner and with things to do during our stay. Pool was smaller, but great for my young family...We were treated as like we were family..maybe even better! We will tell everyone and We will be back!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travellingmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Our family recently stayed at the Cambria Suites hotel for a 4 day weekend to Traverse City and Torch Lake. Our family consists of myself, wife and 5 year old daughter. Another set of friends (who were visiting from England) also booked a room with us, and they have a husband, wife, 8 year old daughter and 6 year old son. We were able to book adjoining rooms for $165 each for the first night, and $145 for the next two nights. These rates are about average for Traverse City, in the heart of summer, but those would be the only things that were "average" about this hotel.

Upon arrival, we were greeted, by probably the nicest front desk staff I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. They answered every question we had about the hotel and rooms, and always had a smile. I'll get into more details about the staff later.

The suites themselves were laid out very nicely. At the far end of the room, it had two queen pillow top mattress beds, a dresser between the beds, and a another dresser opposite the beds with a large (at least 37+) LCD tv on it.
Closest to the entry door was the bathroom, with probably some of the nicest bathroom decor I've ever seen in a long time. The sink was very contemporary, and the shower had a very large, multi-adjusting showerhead, and in the tub area, there was a sitting ledge at the end of it, which was very convenient for placing items on, or having the kids sit on while trying to give them a shower. Usually, in most hotels we go to, my wife never thinks the bathrooms are clean enough, and she brings her own cleaning supplies to give them a once over before using them. In these bathrooms, (for the first time I can remember), she didn't need to. They were that spotless! In fact, they looked almost like they had never been used before. I know the hotel has been open for only about 2 months, and everything is new, but the housekeeping did a stellar job (even during our stay, it was always cleaned to that standard).

Between the sleeping area and the bathroom, was a separate sitting area, with a couch, a desk, and another LCD tv mounted on the wall. There was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. This is also where the doors to the adjoining rooms were located, which we just left open most of the time, so the kids could go back and forth from room to room, and play together.

The only recommendation I would make about the rooms is that between the sleeping area, and the sitting area, is a wall, but it's not a solid wall. It's basically an open wall of shelves, which had nick nacks on them. I would suggest something (maybe a screen, or curtain), that could be slid over to block out light from the sitting area, when someone is in the sleeping area. We found it not too convenient for putting the kids to bed, but the adults trying to stay up and watch tv. But, that's a minor complaint in my book, compared to the quality of the rooms.

Now, back to the staff. Upon arrival, we asked for a recommendation for a place to eat which accommodates kids. The staff offered a number of choices, but they heavily favored a local brewery which all seemed to agree was great. So, we decided to give it a try. While we stood there trying to decide how to do the cars (my truck could seat 7, but had a boat on a trailer, and our friend car could only seat 5), the front office manager (Sarah) asked if we would like to use the Shuttle bus the hotel offers. Surprised by this, I asked how much it cost, and where does it go to (thinking there was a fee, or it only went back and forth to the casino). She answered, "It's Free. And it goes to anyplace you want in town, and as far out of town as the outlet mall (west) or the casino (east)." We were shocked. So we took the shuttle bus, and the driver was excellent. She was very friendly and helpful pointing out things to see and do during out time in Traverse City. We got to the restaraunt and ate dinner, and everyone was right. The food was excellent!

To catch the shuttle back, they give you a card with the driver's phone number on it. You just call it, and they come back to get you (took only about 10 minutes for her to arrive). On our way back to the hotel, one of our friends wasn't feeling well (upset stomach, but not from the food at the restaraunt, but from before we ever arrived at the hotel), and the driver heard this, and offered to take us over to Walgreens so she could get something to help make her feel better.

Also, during the next day, we talked to the front desk staff about other places to eat and things to do. In passing, we mentioned to them that it was our friend's birthday the night we originally arrived, and for a present to her, we were going to watch all the kids, and let her and her husband go out for the evening themselves. So we asked for recommendations for a nice place for dinner. They provided one, and our friends went. In the meantime, they pulled me aside and asked if it would be ok if they could leave them a gift in their room, as a surprise for her birthday, which I was shocked to hear. I said ok, and they left them a nice, chilled bottle of wine and flowers, compliments of the hotel. We didn't ask for any of this, they just offered.

Anyways, I could go on and on about the service, but really, I could sum it up by saying it was superb! If you have a chance, stay here. You won't be disappointed at all!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmichalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Spent 3 days at the Cambria Suites of Traverse City this week. This all suite hotel is brand new and just what Traverse City has needed. TC has so many old and worn hotels and motels.
Loved everything about this new concept hotel. Suites had many amenities including 2 flat panel lcd tv's, high speed internet access with a dedicated desk and mesh task chair, plump mattresses with 4 big pillows on each bed, great individual digital climate control, gorgous modern bathroom, sofa in separate room, etc, etc etc.
The lobby was modern and beautiful--and very functional. It had an open concept which was warm and inviting. It had ample comfortable seating areas as well as at least 3 large flat screen computers. It had a large flat screen tv and an attractive bar area. There was a separate dining area in which we thouroughly enjoyed their $7.99 breakfast buffet which was awesome. You have to try the vegeatable frittatta as well as the steel cut oatmeal with warm vanilla cream, both of which were ouitstanding!!!! Cudos to Michelle the cook as well as the friendly waitresses. Michelle I am dreaming of that frittatta--can you give up the recipe? Also loved the free Wolfgang Puck coffees that were available during the day.
Jim & Donna

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassymi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Mi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

we checked 3 other hotels and landed in the gem of Traverse City , the rate, the room , the pool , spa and the wonderfull way my kids were treated .....
we will come back and recomend our stay to every one we know ..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City

Property: Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Address: 255 Munson Ave # US-31, Traverse City, MI 49686-3079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Cambria Suites(R) hotel provides luxury accommodations in the charming coastal town of Traverse City, and is the perfect place to stay for corporate or leisure travelers.Our Cambria Suites luxury hotel offers both business and leisure travelers exclusive amenities that will make you feel right at home, including: Full service Restaurant, Reflect Bistro, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with Happy Hour daily from 4 to 7 pm, state of the art fitness center, free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable, complimentary Shuttle Service and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing