We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat in Traverse City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Treat in Traverse City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was impressed! Yes it is a premium priced hotel but it met my expectations. The staff was polite, friendly and helpful. We booked a King suite and there we more than enough space. Everything was clean and updated. The bathroom was large and modern.
the gym was well equipped with plenty of room. The indoor pool is adequate and the Jacuzzi was nice. The area was well maintained and clean.
The breakfast buffet was excellent…the made-to-order omelets were excellent. The bar and restaurant area was open and inviting and food was very good. The decor in the common area was comfortable and good looking.
Its too bad there was no view of the bay from this location which is just outside the downtown core of Traverse City. Location was still convenient and nothing was more than 5 min away.
I agree with another reviewer that it would have been nice to have exhaust fans in the bathrooms to help with the steam. We stayed four nights and felt very comfortable there. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your
stay at the Cambria Suites. We appreciate all of your comments
and we will use these to continue to strive to be better.Thanks
for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    109
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
161
235
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Cambria Suites in Traverse City. It cost a little more than we normally spend, but given the options in Traverse City, it appears to be a good value.

It was nice to have the extra room in the suite for our family of 4. My son even decided to sleep on the extra sofa rather than sharing a bed.

I was a little disappointed that breakfast wasn't included for the $200/nt but it wasn't too overpriced (kids prices, omelet only options, etc.) and was decent quality. The restaurant and bar are open throughout the day but we only had breakfast there.

The front staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations which we truly appreciated. I'd have no issues staying again.

Note: we considered staying out by Sleeping Bear Dunes are were glad we decided to stay in town instead (more dining options, etc.).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve_in_indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you to you and your family for being our guests while in Traverse City!
I'm glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and our facility as well. Hope to see
you on a return visit to Northern Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very professional staff. Breakfast was great with plenty of options.
The room was very nice with everything you could need.
The only exception would be the shower. While it looks so big and modern, there is no shelf to put items or a bench (it is a walk-in shower). So, while guys may not notice these details, I sure did!! I also wish there had been a fan to remove the humidity/fog build up.
I would stay here again, but not for a long stay due to the day-to-day inconveniences of the shower.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the road are a bit noisy, but the A/C fan can help to drown out the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbfosterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Cambria Suites. I am glad that you enjoyed
our hospitality and our property. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the shower
area and the bathroom fan. Our bathroom fans do run continuous, which is unlike the
style that you may have in your home. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Check-in was quick and the front desk clerk friendly and knowledgeable. We had a first floor queen suite. It was clean and had a contemporary feel to it. The bathroom is on the smaller side but the shower had great water pressure and was hot. One complaint from my wife was the poor lighting in the bathroom while she was getting ready in the morning.

I agree with other guests that the hotel is in an awkward location. While on a busy street, there's an old 7-11 across the street. For neighbors there is an old motel which I couldn't determine if was still in business or abandoned. Behind Cambria Suites was a shady apartment complex which they wanted you to park against.

We paid close to $300 including taxes for one night. I think for what you get this place is overpriced. No breakfast included and not on the water (or even a decent view in any direction).

If we're ever in Traverse City again we will probably look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank FSHR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I'm sorry that you were dissapointed with the location of our hotel and the pricing as well.
Traverse City's hotel rates are at there highest during July and August. Hopefully you can
come back and join us at another time of the year when our rates drop down to lower rates.
Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAPEER
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We chose this motel based on the great reviews. I'm sorry, I was not impressed. The area around the elevators shared its space with tables for the restaurant and it seemed crowded. No continental breakfast.
Our room was quite large, the decor was nice. The shower was a walk-in, but motels don't seem to be using fans anymore and everything fogs up. I think a small shelf in the shower would have been nice...I don't enjoy standing on my head to shave my legs! The sofa bed was not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay! The Cambria
Brand doesn't offer a complimentary continental breakfast, we all have
full service restaurants. I appreciate all of your comments as we are
always looking for ways to improve. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, mi
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Always an excellent place to stay and very quiet on the 3rd floor. I'm a fan of the check in staff and always feel welcome. Wish you had more nights that jazz was being played on that beautiful piano!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terristours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage of the Cambria Suites. I am
glad that you enjoy our hospitality from our staff. Our Jazz night comes back
in September right after Labor Day and runs through next June. Thank you
for letting us know that you enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I vacationed here from June 20 - 22. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with a friendly staff and trendy atmosphere. I was also very pleased with the restaurant inside the hotel...surprisingly delicious! Our only issue was that this hotel is a few miles away from the "action" of Traverse City i.e.: the beach, bars, and restaurants. There is a complimentary shuttle that runs until midnight, but we missed the luxury of having these experiences within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cambria! Sorry that the location of the hotel wasn't
where you liked it, but I am glad that you enjoyed our ammenities, the Reflect Bistro,
and our hospitality. Hope to see you on your next visit to Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City

Property: Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Address: 255 Munson Ave # US-31, Traverse City, MI 49686-3079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Cambria Suites(R) hotel provides luxury accommodations in the charming coastal town of Traverse City, and is the perfect place to stay for corporate or leisure travelers.Our Cambria Suites luxury hotel offers both business and leisure travelers exclusive amenities that will make you feel right at home, including: Full service Restaurant, Reflect Bistro, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with Happy Hour daily from 4 to 7 pm, state of the art fitness center, free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable, complimentary Shuttle Service and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing