We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Manitou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schooner Manitou
Save
You added Schooner Manitou to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent the night on the boat. The accomodations are spartan, just as described. We slept on deck and it was beautiful. Waking up before sunrise to see swans swimming by and then seeing a fishing boat go out just as the sun rose was a picture perfect experience. Some crew spent the night and more came onboard to prepare a delicious breakfast on a wood stove. Breakfast was served family style and it was great to talk to the crew. Would do it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beanodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We enjoyed the evening wine tasting cruise and overnight B&B option on the schooner. B&B guests are taaken on board before the rest fo the cruise passenger to get settled and comfortable. There was a large group of maybe 45 for the wine tasting/dinner cruise which lasted 2 hours. Those who wanted could get involved hoisting the sails, but after that the crew of three and Captain Dave handle all the tacks, jibs, and dousing of the sails at the end. The captain and crew were extremely polite and anxious to answer any questions. They had from three years to two weeks experience, but all appeared to know what they were doing. The food was prepared fresh and locally and the 4 wine selections from a local winery on Mission Pennisula. Portions of both were generous.
As mentioned in another review the cabins are small, 5X7 maybe, and bunks what you would expect on a 100 year old ship. The night was pleasant so we chose to sleep on deck having brought along sleeping bags. The boat gently rocked and after midnight the sky cleared and was full of stars. There are 24 bunks but if everyone chose to sleep on deck it might get a bit crowded.
Around 11:00PM an over night security crew member arrived who walked the deck periodically to check on passengers, the safety of the ship, and keep updated on weather conditions. The first mate also stayed on board overnight.
As also mentioned, the heads(bathroom) although equipped with a shower, were sparten providing the bare necessities for what needed to happen in there. But who spends more time than necessary in there anyway?
Breakfast cooked over an onboard wood stove in the morning was a quiche, bannana bread, coffee, juice, and fresh fruit. Joined by the crew we ate family style in the galley.
The B&B without an evening cruise is doable but seems to miss the point. While cheaper than other local accomodations, to not take the cruise definately minimizes the experience. Teenagers would enjoy the cruise, I'm not sure if the overnight would be as much fun. It's a comfortable well kept schooner with books to read, board games to play, and atmosphere to soak up.
We really enjoyed listening to the stories of the crew. They were very interaactive.

Room Tip: Rooms are assigned, but if you can request one of the forward cabins, I think 1-4, they have a less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We just returned from a great time on the Schooner Manitou. Our four-day trip was designated an “astronomy cruise.” We looked at planets, stars, constellations and the moon, and also learned about other facets of our universe—all led by an astronomer from a Michigan college. We sailed all four days, with one day having absolutely perfect sailing conditions. We enjoyed each day fully. The crew provided all the meals, created and prepared by the on-board chef. All passengers were invited to participate in setting and taking down sails. Captain Dave has a great crew, each one an expert in sailing and willing to share their knowledge of sailing with everyone. The crew was attentive and seemed to never sleep—and enjoyed getting to know each passenger. The ship is available all summer for two-hour day trips, but I highly recommend any one of the four-day outings. Coming up this fall: a wine tasting cruise and a music cruise (with a folk singer). A wonderful time was had by all!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I should have written this review months ago but better late... I love B&Bs and this was definitely something unique. I was lucky enough to stay on a Wednesday night - music night - under a full moon - when during a very rainy week it did not rain! I was the only guest so one of the crew and I sat up on deck and talked about "life". I ate with the crew, family style, in the morning - food plentiful, hot and very good. The afternoon sail was smooth and the "Celtic/Swedish" band quite entertaining. Lots of boy scouts to dodge but they helped with the rigging so I didn't feel bad about not volunteering. ;-) I loved it and I'd stay there again without hesitation but it's not for everyone. This is an old ship. The cabin bunks are small and you have to be able to climb up and down ladders. The bathroom/head is what you find on a boat so if you need spa facilities don't stay here. You don't sail at night. The boat is docked and there is not much in the way of rocking. Overall, if you know what you're getting it's a great experience. Captain Dave and all his crew were terrific.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
6.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Manitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Manitou

Property: Schooner Manitou
Address: 13258 S West Bay Shore Dr, Traverse City, MI 49684-5456
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh air and starry nights abound from the decks of one of the largest traditional sailing vessels on the Great Lakes. You’ll experience one of the best vantage points on West Grand Traverse Bay. Join us on board for an adventurous overnight secured at our pier and a hearty homemade full breakfast cooked on our wood burning stove in the morning. There are accommodations for 24 guests in 12 private cabins below deck which are rustic and fitting of a mid-1800’s style windjammer. Each is equipped with two built-in, wooden, single bunks and electric lighting. The cabins are bright, clean, comfortable and supplied with fresh linens, towels and warm blankets. There’s plenty of room for a good night’s sleep or, if you’d rather (and the weather’s appropriate) you may bring a sleeping bag and a pad for sleeping on deck under the stars. There are two enclosed toilet facilities on deck that are kept sparkling clean. Access to shower facilities on shore is available for further passenger comfort. Mornings are a special time, with spectacular sunrises climbing over Old Mission Peninsula. Wake up to a fresh mug of coffee topside while the preparation of breakfast is in its final stages…This is one to remember. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing