We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely setting on the beach”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Has a kitchenette which makes it nice for families. Pool area is inside and steamy and towels provided at desk. This is a timeshare establishment so there are sales reps available. Area is across from state park and you smell the campfires from across the street. Lots of road noise too from heavy trucks. Beds are small double beds and couch bed is queen size. They say it sleeps 6 but really meant for only 4 at most. Bathroom extremely small and bugs and spider webs out on deck. It is a converted older hotel into a condo. Heating unit also not working properly, and they came to fix.Pillows lumpy and needed updating. Pleasant staff and would recomend this place for convenience.

Room Tip: Opt for the newer section of this hotel the farthest from their office
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sassytoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

beautiful beach and sand with a very fine room. full kitchen, plasma tv, full bath & shower. each day there was a planned resort activity for us and kids. the other guests were fun and friendly. the very 1st day we were there gm gary thaxton made us feel @ home. i love the central location to the traverse city area that the reef offers. there was plenty of parking and great info for the area @ the front desk. i look forward to the next visit ti pinestead reef, see you in 2012.
PS- my 8 year old loves the indoor pool!!!!!
thanks

john
pescari

Room Tip: look on-line for the reef's website, for available timeshare options, the week you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

As the theme song for the TV series Cheers goes, Pinestead Reef Resort is truly a place where, if you are a repeat customer, everybody knows your name. The staff is excellent! We have been going there for several years, and are always greeted very warmly. Although it is an older building, units have been kept up very well and are always clean. There is an indoor pool and hot tub and games room for the kids. The beach and view of the bay are spectacular! There are good restaurants , grocery stores, and specialty stores nearby. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OniBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Pinestead Reef Resort is a wonderful family or romantic get-away! The long, sugar sand beach and beautiful blue waters of the East Bay are the perfect spot to relax, play, swim, or walk. We just love it there and will go again for sure!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first(ground) floor go quickly, but all rooms have a fabulous view and access to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janelew49009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stay at the Pinestead every year. You can't beat the location or view. Love that the rooms now have the plasma tv's. Also, the resort has an indoor pool, so on the bad weather days, the kids still have something to do! They also offer family activities, such as bingo and crafts. Great family resort!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DisneyGirlCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed in room 212 for Easter, 2010. Weather was bloody cold and snowed early April. Accommodations were GREAT! Fantastic location and view to DIE for! Resort has an indoor swimming pool, hot tub and game room. Being elderly and the place full of kids during Easter Break, we did not partake in that but is a fine place for families and elderly couples such as us.

Location is on the main highway so street sound is loud!!!!!!! Winter weather, we had the windows shut but when the semi trucks drove by, literally shook the land. Unit was quiet as long as front street windows shut.

Lots to see via Leelenau Peninsula, Mission Point Peninsula and Traverse City itself. Accommodations were GREAT! Very CLEAN! The balconies on the water and front door are shared which was odd but never intrusive. Fantastic location.

Be SURE to eat at Red Messa Grill just up the road if you enjoy Mexican Food. Cheap and Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaileeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We visit Pinestead at least twice a year, and TC itself more than any other vacation location. The upgrades in the bathrooms and the addition of the plasma tv's was a welcome surprise last year for our visit. Never had a bad experience at this resort. Next trip is only a few days away. Great location if your interested in anything from golf to casinos to wine tasting. Pinestead is a short drive to any type of experience you are looking for.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantwait2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
317 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Property: Pinestead Reef Resort
Address: 1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing