We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Holly, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the Bay!”
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Our recent stay at the Pinestead Reef was totally enjoyable. Our two bed-two bath villa walked out right onto the sugar sand beach. There's a spectacular view of the Bay from every room. The service was friendly and helpful. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool and game room. And we thoroughly loved having our own cocktail hour on the patio right outside our room, then returning onto the beach in the cool morning air for coffee and Traverse City cherry pie! We found the Pinestead Reef to be perfectly situated, inside the villa and outside, for reveling in what a northern Michigan Fall has to offer vacationers.

  • Liked — The rooms with views right on Grand Traverse Bay.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2006

I love the Pinestead! All the rooms over look the water, they all have full kitchens and livingrooms.. The beach is amazing! All Sand.. and its close to town, what more can you ask for. Oh Yes the beds are so comfortable you really don't want to get up, but there is the lure of the water, which on a nice day you can open your glass slider and hear it lapping the shore. It is a family resort, and the activities are great. A weekly Pizza Party in the fall, they tell me its a cookout in the summer, is free for all staying and we met some really friendly people there. The Staff is awesome, very helpful. They directed us to a couple of wonderful restaurants. The rooms are updated, the bathrooms are in need of a redo, but they say that is next. This is a great resort overall. Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Clean and comfy beds! Very Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Bathrooms..they need updating.
  • Tips/Secrets — The staff at the desk if full of information..dont be afraid to ask! Plus they have Menus and Maps and they are locals so they know the area well.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank girlbeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, MI
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We exchanged our vacation points through RCI for a week at this resort in June. We weren't sure what it would be like but we loved it. Each unit (it appears to be a renovated motel) opens out to the beach. We had great weather and a great time with our children ages 9 and 11. WE also enjoyed a baseball game at the Beach Bum's stadium

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — it needed updating
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank avvharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2005

We used to stay at the Sands Motel, right next door (also a nice place). 8 years ago, a co-worker was renting out his weekly room at the pinestead (it's a timeshare!) and we rented it for three consecutive years. 5 years ago we bought our own week. The beach is long and sandy. There is a designated swim area. Right next door is a sea-doo and water trampoline rental. On the other side is the state campground beach. The pinestead has a sauna, indoor heated pool, hot tub and small exercise room. The Pinestead is great for summer activities, being right on the East Bay and only a couple miles from down-town Traverse City. Great for Fall colors and close to winter activities, too! I have not yet regretted buying a timeshare here and hope to pass it off to my children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2003

I have been staying at the Pinestead for at least 15 years and it gets better every year. A must stay!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2003

We stayed here with two small children and had a great time. The view was wonderful. It was great to be right on the beach.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
333 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Property: Pinestead Reef Resort
Address: 1265 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3632
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing