We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed And Anything You Want/All You Can Eat Breakfast”
Review of Old Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mission Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The owners, Angie and Bruce, are friendly, helpful, down to earth people who tell the amazing tale of the Inn that was built in 1869 and nearly destroyed in the late 90s before they bought it. The view of the bay was awesome. We spent some quality time enjoying it from the rocking chairs on the porch. For breakfast we were given a menu and told that we could order anything and as much as we wanted, and they kept bringing out food until we were satisfied. I tried the French toast, bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit cup and a cinnamon roll the first day, pancakes and sausage the next, and one of everything on our last day there. Everything was fresh and made to order. I am so glad that we did not stay in Traverse City where we would have missed out on the serenity and natural beauty of the mission peninsula.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I needed to spend a couple of days in Traverse City area, but didn't want to stay in the noisy city. The Old Mission Inn, about 15 miles out towards the tip of the Old Mission Peninsula, was a perfect solution. It's a very old inn with a long and interesting history, which the inn owners will delight in telling you about. Some rooms have private bathrooms; other rooms share bathrooms, although I understand that the owners are planning to add private bathrooms. I stayed on the second floor in a beautiful room with one bed, the Rose room, right across from a shared bathroom. The walls are a little thin, so if you wanted to be sure to get a quiet room you might ask for one on one end or the other. The room had a heater for cold, a fan for warm, refrigerator, television, and high-speed Internet. I felt pampered, content, and slept well. Breakfast was good, with many choices of fairly standard American fare. The inn is in a very quiet part of the peninsula. You can walk to the water which is right across the road, you can walk down the road to a mercantile, you can bike ride, and you can just enjoy the tree covered grounds surrounding the inn. The owners provide menus for all the restaurants on the peninsula. There are a number of options from the reasonably priced to the exorbitantly priced, but the good thing is you don't even need to leave the peninsula to eat well. I noticed that the prices at the inn change depending on the time of year you stay there, which is understandable for this highly touristic area. The inn is, however, closed in the winter. I thought the cost was very reasonable. Staying at the inn was a lovely experience. It is a place people return to, and I certainly would return.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin and it was so nice and had plenty if room for everyone. We had 3 families all together....great time was had by all!! Thanks so much to Angie and Steve for our wonderful Bon fire. Hope to be up in the area again for another family gathering next year!!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Rnkkernodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I rode our bike up for the weekend. Angie, Bruce and Tyler made us feel welcomed the second we arrived until we left.

The inn is full of history and they did an awesome job in restoring it. It was loaded with antiques, including pictures of the 3 previous owners in its 145 year existence. The rooms were small, but very clean that included a very comfy bed. The breakfasts are free, delicious and they fill you up. The only small issue was the coffee was a little weak, but that was no big deal.

The area is very quiet with a nice view of the bay just a few steps from the front door. The lighthouse is a couple miles up the road and wineries, wineries wineries are close by. Also,
the Jolly Pumpkin is within minutes and the food and craft beers are delicious.

We both enjoyed the stay and the conversations with Angie, Bruce and Tyler. We even enjoyed hanging out with Kodiak, their Siberian husky, at night by the pitfire.

Great stay and great time. We definitely would stay there again.

The Sleepy Bikers.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank zipzak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Old Mission Inn on the way to Mackinaw City, MI. The room was small and the bath was down the hall and shared by others in rooms on the same flooor, but it is crammed with history, has a nice view of the water, and the breakfast was very good. In the evenings, there is a circle of chairs around a firepit, complete with roasting marshmellows if you so desire. It is also located just down the road from an old-fashioned merchantile that has about anything you would want...even if you don't want anything, it is worth a stop. The Inn is not far from a lighthouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the Old Mission Peninsula for our 9th wedding anniversary. We happened across the Old Mission Inn in a magazine article, so we made a reservation having never been there (although we did see some very favorable reviews on Trip Advisor). We were very pleasantly surprised on our arrival. Bruce greeted us and spent at least a half an hour telling us the history of the Inn and showing us around the Inn, including the many artifacts they have on display. The Inn has a wonderful history and the owners are very happy to share it with you.

We spent two nights at the Inn. The sleeping arrangements were quite good and there was definitely peace and quite given the location of the property. There is a wonderful view off the front porch and out of the rooms. We stayed in the Cherry Tree Suite on the ground floor and were very pleased by the accommodations. The building is quite old, but they do have cable TV and wireless internet for your cell phone and I-pads. There was also a stove and a small refrigerator in our room.

They do have a fire pit in the front yard and it appears as if they use it, but it rained the entire time we were there so we unfortunately did not get a chance to experience the group bon fire.

The breakfasts were very good. The menu has several selections, you can have as much as you like, and it is made to order.

Bottom line is that the Old Mission Inn is a treasure. The owners Bruce, Angie and Tyler go out of their way to make you feel at home and have done a wonderful job renovating the Inn.

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are two suites, the Cherry Tree and the Apple. These are on the ground floor and have wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noturns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A charming historic Inn. Very friendly Inn Keepers. We saw a beautiful sunrise from our room.
They had a bonfire out back. They had menus for selecting a restaurant for dinner. We couldn't stay long enough to get a tour but we got a bit of the Inn history. Very cool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseloverTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
14.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
14.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
14.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
15.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mission Inn

Address: 18599 Mission Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-9751
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest continually operating historic hotel in Northern Michigan. Located on Traverse City's scenic Old Mission Peninsula. The Old Mission Inn combines old style Victorian era furnishings with modern amenities including deluxe bathrooms and free wifi. Full hot, old fashion, all you can eat breakfast included in the price of the rooms. All rooms overlook beautiful Lake Michigan's East Grand Traverse Bay. The Old Mission peninsula is rolling acres of cherry orchards and vineyards. Enjoy the local wineries, restaurants, biking and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Old Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing