We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Rooms, Great Location and Fantastic Hosts”
Review of Old Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mission Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Affordable Rooms, Great Location and Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Bruce and Angie were great hosts and we can't wait to go back! Breakfast is included: a simple made to order menu of eggs, french toast yogurt, ect. The prices here are very affordable considering that they have such a great location. We were given a brief history when we arrived. Our hosts remembered our names and chatted with us at breakfast.

We stayed in room 10 and it was very comfortable, but a little small. I should also mention that some of the rooms have shared bathrooms, our's was one of them. Even with a full house the bathrooms were very clean and we never had to wait in line. The room was perfect for us, because we were at the beach across the street, wine tasting or sitting on the peaceful front porch drinking wine that we had purchased while tasting. We really didn't spend any time in our room. If we were staying longer we would consider getting one of the suites.

In the large, shaded yard there were hammocks, horseshoes, latter ball and other games if you preferred to spend the day relaxing there. If you are looking for somewhere comfortable in a great location, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAdams0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We arrived and were promptly greeted by the owner--she spent a significant amount of time showing us the property and describing the history of the establishment. She was very hospitable and friendly, she had a sense of pride about there establishment. The history of it draws you in more. The first night we stayed in a room with a shared bathroom, which was not a big deal at all (there is a sink/mirror in each room). The room was on the smaller side but clean and welcoming. The owner was very helpful for restaurant tips and navigation. We were also very excited about the free wi-fi offered. The showers were clean, plentiful hot water and soap/shampoo. The next morning we went down for complimentary breakfast, you pick from a list of multiple options (surely anyone can find something they like). Breakfast offered us a chance to meet other guests-hear their stories and various recommendations on restaurants/wineries.

The 2nd night we stayed in the cherry hill suite. This room was cute and offered a homey feel. It was definitely a bang for your buck! It has its own private bathroom with lots of hot water. The view from the large covered front porch is amazing of the lake.


We were very pleased with our stay here and would without a doubt recommend to family friends. It was our first bed and breakfast experience and has definitely started us off on the right foot! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NurseJen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston/Cape Cod
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

It's not for the person who wants a modern hotel, but if you like history and talking with the owners and other guests, this is your place. It's got history and character, lovely owners and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michiganian
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Become part of Michigan history by putting your name on the guest registry for the first Inn in Michigan. The hosts are wonderful; thrilled to tell you all about area history and their efforts to restore this historic treasure. The area is quiet, beautiful, with wineries that offer great wine tasting, great gourmet restaurants. There is a nice beach within walking distance. Breakfast can be ordered from an extensive menu and like another reviewer, I have to add that I have never before tasted such good bacon. The entire breakfast was delicious every morning. If Old Mission Inn was good enough for Babe Ruth and Joe Louis, its good enough for you.

The inn is close to Traverse City with casinos and great shopping. Its about 45 minutes from the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes and we loved doing the dune climb to Lake Michigan (take water and sunblock). It would be an ideal spot for cross country skiing because the inn is open year around. Each room has its own refrigerator for your wine or snacks and has a gas fireplace which would make it cozy in winter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The owners were so friendly and informative. Their rendition of the historical history of the hotel was captivating and interesting. Our room was small, but comfortable and quiet. It is a great place to relax and get away from it all. The great view of the bay was breathtaking! The historic buildings (the church and the general store) added to its aura. Keeping its preservation is perhaps one of the most important matters in the community. How fortunate it was to visit and stay in such a lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpea386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The hospitality was fantastic, the Inn an amazing trip into history, and the setting among the best. Hosts don't get any better than Bruce, Angie, and Tyler.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

The owners love their inn, its history, and its area. They are working to modernize its bones as much as they can so it will be a beautiful, historic, comfortable place that will survive for a very long time to come. They're willing to challenge the zoning boards that are not being true to the area's history. So quiet in the mornings. Gourmet restaurants nearby and great wineries.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winoDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
14.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,064 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
14.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
14.9 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mission Inn

Property: Old Mission Inn
Address: 18599 Mission Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-9751
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest continually operating historic hotel in Northern Michigan. Located on Traverse City's scenic Old Mission Peninsula. The Old Mission Inn combines old style Victorian era furnishings with modern amenities including deluxe bathrooms and free wifi. Full hot, old fashion, all you can eat breakfast included in the price of the rooms. All rooms overlook beautiful Lake Michigan's East Grand Traverse Bay. The Old Mission peninsula is rolling acres of cherry orchards and vineyards. Enjoy the local wineries, restaurants, biking and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Old Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing