We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious room. Not a hot breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and spacious. Air conditioning worked very well. No musty smell or dampness felt in the room. Pool looked nice. Location was good for traveling to the winery's and front street. The web description makes it sound as if they serve a hot continental breakfast which was not the case.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winkyshasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 851 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband & I took an over night trip with another couple to Traverse in early March. We were wine tasting on Saturday and then leaving Sunday. We wanted an inexpensive hotel to stay at since this was a quick overnight trip and we didn't plan on spending much time in the room. After looking at the prices for the "bigger" hotels in the area we decided to book the Howard Johnson for $41/night. When we checked in to the hotel we were pleasantly surprised at the newly remolded lobby area. The added rock accents and new furniture. It looked very nice- nicer than I expected. When we went to our rooms on the second level- we were even more surprised at the state of our room. It was awesome! for $41 we had a huge room, king bed, mini fridge, large/nice bathroom & a large area with the sink and mirror (door separated toilet/shower from sink/mirror). The bed was comfortable, the room seemed very clean, and the noise was very minimal. We were so pleasantly surprised at the quality and the cleanliness that we will definitely book again! We have stayed at other hotels in the area for a lot more money and have gotten a lot less room/ dirtier, too. The location is decent, too. Not walking distance to downtown, but short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

this hotel had been newly renovated. however I had 2 remotes for the tv that didn't work ,even when the clerk put new batteries in it . the bathroom had a musty smell to it . the free breakfast was the worst, dry cereal ,donuts ,toast and that was it . no fruit, eggs, meats of any sort.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our newly renovated room was quite pleasant and the shower wonderful and spacious. Our super fast wi fi was ok. nice pool to swim. bit expensive due to the location. breakfast quite ok. clean entrance

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends are quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherryviny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Surprised at how nice it was. The price was excellent and the location was close to shopping ,food and fun things to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The room was clean and neat. Thanks to the cleaning crew who have a tough job cleaning up after all the guests. They are really worth our praise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $61 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing