We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family stayed at the HoJo the first weekend of May 2013. I made my reservation at this hotel because it got such a high rating on Trip Advisor (and since it was still the off-season, was only $60/night for 2 queen beds). I was a bit skeptical that a "motel" would have such high marks, but I was surprisingly very pleased with our room. Turns out, all the rooms are new; new carpet, newer cherry furnishings, flat screen tv, the bathroom was completely redone. In room coffee, hair dryer, small fridge. The lobby was very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable seating with fireplace. The continental breakfast (cereal, oatmeal, toast, juice, coffee) was basic but enough to start the day. They have a seasonal outdoor pool that wasn't open during our visit. And since it's motel-like and you enter all the rooms from the outside, you don't hear all the hallway noise of people walking or doors slamming. And it's right on the main drag in Traverse City, across the street from mini-golf and a short drive or walk away from the downtown. I'll definitely stay here again as long as the price is right!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 865 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

All in all a very good experience. Even the weather cooperated! We received great value for the very reasonable off-season rates we paid. Most of the other hotels are much more expensive in pricey Traverse City, Mi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked this room for my inlaws who were in Traverse City for Susrgery at the hospital. I booked Tue/Wed/Thur/Fri nights. Surgery went well and they got discharged one day early, When they attempted to check out Friday morning, they stated that they would be charged for Friday evening also.
There was no reaso for being charged for that day, they were told that if that situation arose, there would be no charge for the extra night.
I have stayed there before and I was there myself on Tuesday night, prior to surgery. I am very dissapointed in the action to being charged for the extra night, even when told otherwise.
I would hope for a reply to this email, and hopefully a apology for this incident.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#25 of 40 in Traverse City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $44 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing