We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Ledge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Three teenagers and I stayed 2 nights in the Traverse City, MI, location. Hotel was recently renovated/updated, so everthing was very nice. Bathroom was beautiful with new large tiled shower. Nice flat screen TV. Veryt spacious, and it was a nice touch to have a refrigerator in the room. Free breakfast was very good. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    254
    146
    59
    25
See reviews for
195
270
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We needed to stay overnight for business. The room was immaculate. We stayed on the 1st floor and the walk in shower was fanstic. The staff was very friendly. The map of Traverse City is great. Thank you for a very restful night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank tiredCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a great room for very little cost. The room was spacious and clean. The service was wonderful. My only complaint was the Jacuzzi tub could have been cleaned better. Otherwise a fantastic stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHELBY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Room was comfortable and clean. Battery in TV remote was in need of replacement and the outside stairs to the second floor were not desirable because of the snow. Breakfast was as expected for a continental breakfast. Rates were excellent and the staff were very helpful. Checked out at approx. 10 am and the parking lot was not plowed and had several inches of snow with it turning to rain. Outdoor carpeting on balcony need to be replaced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank FRANK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your looking for something affordable, than this hotel is definately that. The rooms were clean and pretty spacious. Front desk was friendly. Located in a nice area across from the lake. All that being said, the maid service was so extremely rude and that is putting it mildly. My husband and I got really sick the night before and called down and asked for an extra hour to check out. The front desk was accomadating but housekeeping decided to park a cart outside of our door, leaving us very little room to get out. They kept walking by our room, looking in the window to check up on us. When we left our room, housekeeping was standing and waiting for us and we recieved very nasty looks from them.
Overall, not a bad stay. Hopefully they have a turnover in housekeeping and maybe get someone with a personality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debea1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Traverse City

Property: Howard Johnson Traverse City
Address: 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing