We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed January 26, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DONNA O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 865 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your looking for something affordable, than this hotel is definately that. The rooms were clean and pretty spacious. Front desk was friendly. Located in a nice area across from the lake. All that being said, the maid service was so extremely rude and that is putting it mildly. My husband and I got really sick the night before and called down and asked for an extra hour to check out. The front desk was accomadating but housekeeping decided to park a cart outside of our door, leaving us very little room to get out. They kept walking by our room, looking in the window to check up on us. When we left our room, housekeeping was standing and waiting for us and we recieved very nasty looks from them.
Overall, not a bad stay. Hopefully they have a turnover in housekeeping and maybe get someone with a personality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debea1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank RANDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room and bathroom were very clean. The room was spacious with plenty of room for all 4 of us and our belongings. Nice furniture, large bathroom with a walk in shower. Opens to the outside, continental breakfast was passable, but nothing to rave about, just very basic. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank NICOLE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Traverse City for the New Year's Holiday. Rooms were very inexpensive and very nice. Staff was great. There was a small continental breakfast, but if your looking for something heartier there is a nice restaurant directly across the street. If your looking for a pleasant place to stay this is perfect. However, it is basic, there is no indoor pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVanElls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank ALAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
394 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#25 of 40 in Traverse City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $44 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing