We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but we didn't travel far” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours

Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us aboard the 114' SCHOONER MANITOU as we ply the sparkling waters of Grand Traverse Bay. Sailing out of Traverse City, MI, Manitou offers three two hour sails per day as well as an adventurous "Floating Bed and Breakfast" package.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun but we didn't travel far”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My mother, daughter and I went on the Friday night beer tasting cruise. The crew was fun and the beer samples were generous. I would rate it higher except we really didn't sail anywhere except back and forth across the end of the bay. I expected a 2-hour sail to venture a little further up the bay and offer a little more sightseeing.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmostRetired5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    44
    13
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Just got back from doing the "Bed and Breakfast" cruise on The Manitou. My wife and I enjoyed the 2 hour sail, the wine tastings and the creative foods presented prior to settling in for the night with 4 other people. The ship, piloted by Captain Dave (with assistance from his young daughter and son) and the crew were great fun. Would recommend this outing for anyone of any age.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cvil88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One hour to long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Went on a Sunday 12-2 tour. Note there are no real seats on the ship so you have nothing to lean on for two hours and you are sitting on wood boards. If it wasn't for one of the crew members telling us about his career path, it would been really boring since you go out in the middle of the bay and then come back. It would've been fun for maybe 45 minutes and if we would of had a breeze. It was interesting to see the crew work on the ship and they take volunteers to host the sails in the beginning. Fun for one time only. Wouldn't do it again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a peaceful, beautiful sail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We also had a very calm day. Captain Dave and the crew filled the time with pleasant conversation. Very down to earth crew. Lo and behold a nice breeze came up and away we went. everyone in our party of 6, aged 6 to 52, enjoyed this cruise. The 6 year old steered the boat for a few minutes - "how many people get to steer a 114-foot tall ship?" Given the two hour length of time, perhaps some people expect a little too much. We thought it was wonderful.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank haroldpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We had a Blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was our first cruise and our first trip on a tallship. We went on the Astronomy Cruise and had a total blast! My wife has some stability issues and the crew was extremely helpful. The food was absolutely unbelievably good. The crew was not only helpful, but had great sense of humor. We will do this again next year.

Helpful?
4 Thank cwgeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing