We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shining Jewel of Nothern Michigan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The true " Jewel " of the north and 45th in northern Michigan wine country. The warmth and comfort of the rooms, personable workers, staff and gracious hosts Bob and Nadine along with pampered breakfasts provide an experience second to none. Great people and wines with excellent accomodations and location, location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolverine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 349 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a three-night stay at Chateau Chantal, part of our 30th anniversary celebration. We had heard that CC is nice, but it exceeded our expectations by quite some bit. What a delightful surprise!

Highlights: the room (beautiful and spacious, especially the bath), the hospitality (nice people! -- both staff and guests), the location (on a quiet stretch of the prime Northern Michigan summer tourism area), and especially THE VIEW (nearly Big Sur-ish in its high vantage over beautiful, sparkling, blue water -- and in CC's case, water both to the east and the west!).

Good restaurants (The Boathouse, Bowers Harbor Inn, Old Mission Tavern) are nearby. Also, you can't come here and pass up the Old Mission General Store. Kind of like the area's own Oakville Grocery (of Napa Valley fame).

Our only slight complaints: our bed was somewhat soft and wobbly, and the young breakfast chef, though very enthusiastic and personable, is obviously still learning. But these are minor quibbles when everything else about CC seems so right.

We saw most of CC's 10 or 11 rooms, and though the sizes and views vary, it looks as if you can't go wrong with any of them.

DEFINITELY recommended for a romantic getaway. It was painful toeave!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We were looking for a get away for our anniversary. We had recently started to drink wine from time to time, and when we found CC, it was perfect. They book so far in advance, but we put our name on the waiting list, and low and behold we got a call. It was an amazing place. The view, the food, the wine, and the socialization on the tasting room after hours were all awesome. We are already wondering when we can get away again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimarie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed in the Lebasque room, which has windows on two sides, so you can actually see both bays and we watched the sunrise from bed. The breakfast was excellent, and the service wonderful.

Our only regret is that we only stayed one night!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmt925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Three nights at Chateau Chantal and one is granted a new lease on life. The view atop 65 acres of vineyards that overlook Grand Traverse Bay is spectacular. The Chateau is built so that boarders can enjoy the sunrise build from the water or the sunset sink into the Bay. There's no way to describe the service, the comfort, the wine-education, the views, the food except in superlatives. It was an absolutely perfect spot!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagreenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The sunrise shines through Chateau Chantal's large windows as you savor scrumptious breakfast in a charming lounge area featuring a Grand Piano and stunning lake and vineyard views. Proprietor Bob Begin welcomes you and offers fresh-squeezed orange juice to complement your meal. (I can personally recommend the Blueberry Malbec jam on toast and cherry sausage. Yum!) Your day can be spent relaxing in the comfy lounge area with a good book or wine tasting at the spacious bar where you're warmly greeted by Chateau Chantal staff.

Situated near the tip of Old Mission Peninsula, Chateau Chantal is a respite from the bustling noise of big city life. Apple and cherry trees and vineyards provide scenery that remind you of a simpler time. I absolutely love visiting the peninsula and dream of relocating my family here!

Chateau Chantal's charm is exemplified in the service, the comfortable rooms and the delicious breakfast. Its proximity to the peninsula's six additional wineries makes Chateau Chantal an ideal overnight destination. (Plus, it truly offers one of Michigan's most stunning hilltop views of East and West Grand Traverse Bay.) For lunch or dinner, choose nearby Old Mission Tavern or Boathouse Restaurant for ambiance, fabulous food and excellent service, both of which I can personally recommend. I hear that Bowers Harbor restaurant offers excellent dining as well.

After dinner, return to Chateau Chantal's lounge and enjoy a glass of wine by the fire. Throw on a log, settle in the couch and toast your perfect day. As the embers burn low, return to your room to fall asleep on crisp, clean linens and look forward to another relaxing day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpNorthNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My business partner and I recently stayed at Chateau Chantal while in the area working on a history project. While I had experienced Chateau Chantal's fantastic tasting room and enjoyed their wines on several occassions, this was my first stay in the bed and breakfast. The experience was absolutely amazing!

The first thing you will notice is the stunning European-style chateau atop a grapevine-covered hill overlooking both East and West Grand Travers Bays, Lake Michigan. As soon as we arrived, we were warmly greeted by every employee we saw who seemed absolutely thrilled to have us there. The accommodations are roomy, clean, elegant and fabulous. Breakfast was fresh and tasty!

We were so free to do anything that it was almost like being at home - from morning snowshoeing through the vines to evening chats by the tasting room fireplace (in our slippers!). And the best part of all? The wines, which we were able to sample at any time.

Chateau Chantal is a fabulous place for a girls' weekend, a romantic getaway (I can't wait to take my husband there!), a wedding, small business event or just a palce to get away and relax. I noticed they also have tons of activities (festivals, classes, etc.) at all times throughout the year. I plan to make Chateau Chantal a regular destination for weekend getaways and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
11.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
12.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
12.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn

Address: 15900 Rue de Vin, Traverse City, MI 49686-9379
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $155 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Chateau Chantal. Our vision is to offer a unique experience in Northern Hospitality that combines vineyard and winery, B&B lodging and friendly company, all in a relaxing rural landscape featuring breathtaking views, local beaches, trails and quiet country roads. We are located just 12 miles North of Traverse City, on M-37, Old Mission Peninsula. Our B&B guests enjoy exceptional amenities. From cozy rooms to spacious suites, featuring views of vineyards and fresh water, terrace or balcony, wet bar, whirlpool tub, high ceilings, and elegant furnishings. The inn itself offers fireplaces and sitting areas, ample breakfasts and attentive front desk staff. The Chateau sits amid the restaurants, wineries, and historic agriculture of Old Mission Peninsula. Nearby, in the Grand Traverse region, you’ll find shopping, galleries, cultural venues, fine dining, championship golf, and four robust seasons of activity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Chantal Winery Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing