We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Looking for a place to stay on the way to another event. This was a great find. Really nice people, the room was fantastic, we were in the Van Gogh suite. The owners are getting older but make a fantastic breakfast and are tremendous hosts. Try to find some time to talk with them. Open tasting room after hours for free tasting for guests... pour your own, nice touch. Had a very excellent experience here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petersonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 349 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just went for an hour to do some wine tasting. The wine was ok, but the service was not that great. You get a couple of free wine tastes which is nice, but it didn't really matter because I was just ready to get out of there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcdalese, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello, I'd appreciate hearing more about the poor service you received. If you'd like to provide further details so we may improve our staff training program, please contact me at mcdalese@chateauchantal.com. Our apologies for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went for a wine tour and not stay in the Inn.The place is set on an elevation/small hill so one can have a better view of the lake Michigan in the distance.
The staff were friendly and patient with the wine tasting.The place was crowded because it was raining outside and the Patio was also closed temporarily.
However the best part of this place is the scenery- vines, plants and distant waters..

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LimReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I are always looking for new and exciting and romantic experiences. We definitely found it at Chanteau Chantal Winery and Inn. Although we are not typically big fans of bed and breakfast establishments, we found this place to be a gem! When you drive up the peninsula you experience breathtaking views in every direction. Water, sky, and wineries abound. You will experience a moment of awe when you look up the hill at the chateau which will remind you of pictures of Europe. Upon entering you will be greeted by the most welcoming staff I believe I have ever encountered! The owners are also on the premises to greet you. We stayed in the Behrens Master Suite which was just huge with a large sitting room overlooking one bay, a very large bedroom with a king sized bed, and a bathroom with a two person whirlpool tub! There is also a refrigerator in each room that is stocked with wine. Each morning the breakfast menu was fit for a king. My favorite was the poached eggs on a spinach and artichoke spread! There is also a very nice tour of the winery itself and tasting privileges! We are going to try to get back at least once a year. I am told that in the autumn the grape vines are a beautiful yellow color!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not a fan of B&B's, but this is not your typical B&B. The people are so kind, the rooms are big and very clean. The shower/bath is simply amazing. If you're looking for romance or relaxation, this is the place to be. The views make you feel as if you're in Europe and their brown suger bacon is to die for. I definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The Monet is right next to the patio. It has one of the best views but it is directly next to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughters took me on a trip to Michigan for my 80th birthday. We stayed at the Chateau Chantal on Old Mission Penisula. The room was lovely with a sitting room attached. The morning brunch with local products was delicious. We had a guided tour of the winery and learned much about wines. We toured the countryside, went to wine tastings and shopped in quaint little boutiques. We had a great time even though the weather wasn't very cooperative. I would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast and this beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the view of Lake Michigan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sr_RoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The winery itself and the views from the winery were breathtaking. The manager of the tasting room was very knowledgable and helpful while wine tasting. My sister and I enjoyed every wine we tried. We will definitely go back here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Msmoo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
11.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
12.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
12.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn

Address: 15900 Rue de Vin, Traverse City, MI 49686-9379
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $155 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Chateau Chantal. Our vision is to offer a unique experience in Northern Hospitality that combines vineyard and winery, B&B lodging and friendly company, all in a relaxing rural landscape featuring breathtaking views, local beaches, trails and quiet country roads. We are located just 12 miles North of Traverse City, on M-37, Old Mission Peninsula. Our B&B guests enjoy exceptional amenities. From cozy rooms to spacious suites, featuring views of vineyards and fresh water, terrace or balcony, wet bar, whirlpool tub, high ceilings, and elegant furnishings. The inn itself offers fireplaces and sitting areas, ample breakfasts and attentive front desk staff. The Chateau sits amid the restaurants, wineries, and historic agriculture of Old Mission Peninsula. Nearby, in the Grand Traverse region, you’ll find shopping, galleries, cultural venues, fine dining, championship golf, and four robust seasons of activity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Chantal Winery Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing