We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing, Delicious, Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn
Save
You added Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Delicious, Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my wife's and my first time to Chateau Chantal, up for the weekend to enjoy the Great Mac and Cheese Bakeoff on Mission Peninsula.

Chateau Chantal exceeded expectations on every level. We arrived late on Friday and found a friendly note waiting for us at the front counter. We went to our suite (Renoir), which was much larger than expected, but somehow cozy nevertheless. The sitting room, bedroom, and bathroom (with large whirlpool tub) were spotless and inviting.

After unpacking a few things, we met our friends in the tasting room. For those of you not familiar, one of the significant benefits of staying here is that the tasting room is open 24 hours, but the friendly staff departs at about 6pm. After that time, guests are free to enjoy the wine remaining open from earlier in the day; serve yourself! What a delight to enjoy a private wine tasting with our friends. The tasting room, like the rest of the Inn, is warm and inviting.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with fresh juice and coffee, tomato-basil quiche, and maple bacon--all freshly made. We enjoyed the hospitality and good food.

Although the Inn hosted several guests the weekend we stayed, we never felt crowded or rushed. Somehow, the Inn manages to provide a feeling of seclusion even in the midst of whatever service you might require. It was a perfect way to enjoy the weekend with friends and each other.

Room Tip: You can discover all of the rooms and amenities from the Chateau Chantal website. They are all uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    41
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
186
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I know a lot of people think that you can't re-experience your first time on a wonderful vacation, but we definitely did!! We came here last year for the macaroni and cheese bakeoff and had such a great experience. This place is always booked, it can be hard to get a reservation and much to my dismay they were booked for mac and cheese weekend (had the same problem last year but luckily they sent out a mass email to inform of cancellations). We booked at a different hotel but I emailed them just in case they had a cancellation like last year. Just a few days later, they had a cancellation and emailed me right away. I was thrilled!! The staff here is so nice, they will help you with whatever you need. I noticed the rooms had been remodeled a bit and they looked great.. nice new bathrooms and what not. I love the wine tasting room, it is accessible to guests of the B&B 24/7. Also, the breakfasts are always to die for. The brown sugar bacon they serve is the best part of the trip for me LOL.. the views are breathtaking as well. I love this place and I hope we are lucky enough to get a reservation again next year when we visit TC :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridgette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've reviewed Chateau Chantal previously for the stay I had in the bed & breakfast. This time I was in the area and attended the wine tasting dinner that I missed last time. It was amazing!!! The food was so delicious and the wine pairing was wonderful too. The staff, including Mike who gives the tour and serves the wine, to the chef are just so friendly. They make you feel like they've known you forever. The setting is beautiful. The $70 is worth every cent and more. Don't miss this!!!

I was by myself because I was in the area for a conference. Everyone else were couples but I felt so comfortable and not out of place. That's just the kind of place it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Chateau Chantel is an amazing place. Relaxing, breathtaking views, beautiful rooms with attention to detail, friendly and helpful staff, outstanding breakfasts---I could go on and on. We booked our room one year in advance (could only get a Sunday and a Monday) and already booked rooms for next year. This is not the normal bed and breakfast--this is an experience. Our stay was definitely worth the wait. Purchased Nadine's cookbook and have already tried a few of her recipes---all 4 stars so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We did not stay here but stopped for wine tasting. The views were spectacular and among the best we have ever seen. The tasting room showed Lake Michigan on both sides of the winery and tons of grape vines. The wine was very good and the place had a large patio to enjoy a glass a wine.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phrjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent three nights with two other coulples from Cincinnati. The area is beautiful, Chateau Chantal is in the Mission Peninsula and beautiful Grand Traverse Bay can be seen on both sides of the Inn The wines, especially the reisslings and the unoaked chardonnay are quite remarkable. The pinot noirs are not quite as full bodied as Oregon or California, but still quite drinkable. Their red blends (Naughty Red) at $15 per bottle is an every day quaff. The wine makers dinner at $70 for seven courses is a steal; the pairings of wine and food are terrific, just the right portion sizes and lovely service. All in all, an unrivaled comb ination in a beautiful .location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent five nights at Chateau Chantal & thoroughly enjoyed it. We had been to Traverse City before & decided upon returning to be more removed from tourism, yet not too far away & to experience touring the wineries on both Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas. The Inn Keepers & staff at CC were so welcoming, friendly & helpful. Never have we enjoyed such gourmet breakfasts with desserts at breakfast like we did, unbelievable views & sunsets on such gorgeous property. We were able to tour the winery/cellar which was very interesting & informative. What a GORGEOUS inn, well-maintained & clean in the countryside surrounded by water.... Truly, truly a get away! We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in a lovely, spacious suite that was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amlovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
12.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
12.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
11.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn

Property: Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn
Address: 15900 Rue de Vin, Traverse City, MI 49686-9379
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Chateau Chantal. Our vision is to offer a unique experience in Northern Hospitality that combines vineyard and winery, B&B lodging and friendly company, all in a relaxing rural landscape featuring breathtaking views, local beaches, trails and quiet country roads. We are located just 12 miles North of Traverse City, on M-37, Old Mission Peninsula. Our B&B guests enjoy exceptional amenities. From cozy rooms to spacious suites, featuring views of vineyards and fresh water, terrace or balcony, wet bar, whirlpool tub, high ceilings, and elegant furnishings. The inn itself offers fireplaces and sitting areas, ample breakfasts and attentive front desk staff. The Chateau sits amid the restaurants, wineries, and historic agriculture of Old Mission Peninsula. Nearby, in the Grand Traverse region, you’ll find shopping, galleries, cultural venues, fine dining, championship golf, and four robust seasons of activity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Chantal Winery Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing