We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 2nd time at Chateau Chantal, celebrating our 52 anniverwary. Again, it was a most delightful experience. It is truly a 1st Class B&B - elegant in all respects. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathrooms are roomy with jet tubs and well lighted. Breakfast is a hot meal and nicely served, with the owner / founder often pouring your orange juice. Thursday night "Sunset Jazz" is such a joy. Jeff Haas and his invited musian guests offer a truly memorable evening of listening enjoyment. Of course, Chateau Chantal makes, bottles and sells several varieties of excellent award winning wines. This is a "must do" for anyone with a night or two to spend in the Traverse City area on Old Mission Peninsula.

Room Tip: First or second floor (elevator available), the rooms are all tastefully appointed and spacious. Ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 352 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

I searched endlessly for a great place for a girls weekend for a 50th Birthday and I am happy that I choose to spend it at the Chateau! Chateau Chantal is located on beautiful property, with rolling hills and killer views of the bay. We decided to spend the night, in the Cezanne suit, and it was superb. The suit had a nice patio, huge bathroom with a jetted tub, and a nice couch/TV area. Everything was so clean and we could not find one thing wrong with the room. When we arrived we got a tour of the property; everything is on the honor system. It's a nice change of pace that really makes it feel like you are staying as a guest of someones house. The wine tasting room is massive and has a nice selection of wine themed gifts and food to purchase. If you are staying in the B&B, the tasting room is open 24/7 and they encourage guest to pour samples themselves out of the cooler. Attached to the tasting room is a large terrace with tables, where we sipped wine nibbled on cheese and crackers and soaked in the view. We also took advantage of the cellar tour and learned about the process of making wine. Fun fact, cream of tarter is a by product of making wine! Their is a few very nice restaurants less than 2 miles away. We tried the Old Mission tavern and it was good, not great. In the morning for B&B guest there is a gourmet breakfast served promptly at 8:30am. We loved the cinnamon roll souffle and asked for the recipe. Do not miss the chance and experience Chateau Chantal, even if you are just visiting!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bullseye1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a wine dinner at Chanteau Chantel. This place is amazing. The views of the surrounding vineyards, and the lake are picture perfect. I regretted that we did not arrive for dinner at least an hour early so there would be more time to just walk the grounds and take in the beautiful scenery. The 7 course wine dinner was equally impressive, narrated by the chef and Mike, our host. We will definitely be back for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Chateau Chantal is a special place. The owners have established something they want to share with all their visitors. Residents of the B and B are given a private tour of the vineyards, complimentary wine tastings and access to the tasting room after hours based on an honor system. Most of the rooms are suites; the photos do not do justice to the scale of the rooms~very large, 14' ceilings in some areas, large baths. The staff, including the owners, bar staff and housekeeping personnel are all very friendly and the owners enjoy breakfast with all the guests each morning. If you are looking for special accommodations in a spectacularly natural area, consider this Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views so take which ever room is available since bookings are hard to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofnks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the Chateau back in June of 2011. First of all, this winery is awesome. It looks like a castle sitting up on a mountaintop of grape vines. The wine is great. The B&B is fantastic. The rooms are VERY large, and impeccably clean. We stayed in both the Van Gogh suite and the Renoir suite. Our favorite element of this (besides the tasty breakfast) was the fact that the tasting room is left open for guests after hours and we basically got to hang out in the "wine bar" all night and had free access to all of the bottles there. We met some nice couples that evening. The views are magnificent from out on the new tasting deck. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattheweilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from visiting Chateau Chantal and had a fabulous time... My girlfriends and I signed up for the 2 hour tapas tour which took you thru the vineyards down to the wine making rooms all while sampling delish wine and small plates of food to go with it... Definately worth the visit there. Whitefish pate is to die for and after tour you can get more wine and head out to the balcony.

Great girls trip!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracybozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I highly recommend doing this 7 course dinner with paired wines. Every course was amazing and much larger than I expected them to be, so come hungry! The host Mike and Chef Perry were absolutely amazing!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
11.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
12 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
12.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Chantal Winery and Inn

Address: 15900 Rue de Vin, Traverse City, MI 49686-9379
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $155 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Chateau Chantal. Our vision is to offer a unique experience in Northern Hospitality that combines vineyard and winery, B&B lodging and friendly company, all in a relaxing rural landscape featuring breathtaking views, local beaches, trails and quiet country roads. We are located just 12 miles North of Traverse City, on M-37, Old Mission Peninsula. Our B&B guests enjoy exceptional amenities. From cozy rooms to spacious suites, featuring views of vineyards and fresh water, terrace or balcony, wet bar, whirlpool tub, high ceilings, and elegant furnishings. The inn itself offers fireplaces and sitting areas, ample breakfasts and attentive front desk staff. The Chateau sits amid the restaurants, wineries, and historic agriculture of Old Mission Peninsula. Nearby, in the Grand Traverse region, you’ll find shopping, galleries, cultural venues, fine dining, championship golf, and four robust seasons of activity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Chantal Winery Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing