We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, courteous & COOKIES!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We went on a 870 mile motorcycle ride with some friends. We rode through some rain and stayed at some hotels that were not very nice. We saved the best hotel for last! The Comfort Inn of Traverse City was amazing! First, there were warm cookies waiting for us as we checked in; oh, and the desk staff was warm & friendly too! Then we went to our rooms - luxurious! Everything was clean and the decor was beautiful! We went to dinner @ Boone's and the Comfort Inn had complimentary shuttle service. That was awesome, as our bikes (OK - our behinds) needed a rest! One of our friends used the workout room and I wish I would have brought a bathing suit because the pool & hot-tub looked wonderful. Breakfast was awesome too! I wish we could have stayed longer . Whenever we are in Traverse City, we will stay at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wing-n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 390 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed here one night with three children, 8,7 and 1 before moving to a more expensive/less desirable hotel on the beach--wish we had continued our stay here instead.
The front desk attendant (Aaron, I think was his name) went out of his way to help direct us to sights/appropriate family restaurants. Kids were psyched about 24-hour pool. Although not on the beach (the best beaches were either public in town or along the lake), the location did not hinder our enjoyment of the area. Breakfast was hearty/good variety and started early -- good for little ones. Cons: road noise is evident, parking cramped and eating area a little small -- we had to take our plates out to lobby and eat on fireplace area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascitforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Traverse City is such a wonderful town to visit, and there are many hotels from which to choose. The Comfort Inn is an excellent choice:

Pros -- good location right on the main road, a short drive from Downtown and the beaches. The rooms are very nicely furnished, what you would expect from a much more luxurious resort -- comfortable beds, high-quality furnishings, a huge high-def TV, marble countertops, etc. The pool is open 24 hours, with a hot tub. Breakfast is free and includes the typical cold stuff (cereal, breads, muffins, yogurt) as well as hot bacon and waffles. The service is very friendly.

Cons -- Well, it's not ON the beach, but a very short drive away. The breakfast room is a little bit small -- you'll find yourself bumping into others quite frequently.

All in all, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woehrleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

VERY clean & looked brand new on the inside (not nearly as much on the outside, so don't let the exterior fool you!).

We stayed on a whim on the last leg of our budget friendly vacation. We got the room for $139/night, which, as compared to the other places right up the road we enquired at was a STEAL!

Location was fantastic, room was VERY comfortable (with 46 inch LCD TV) & really above and beyond what I was expecting! Looked very recently updated & immaculately clean! Not one stain or spot anywhere! Everything looked brand new (except exterior).

Pool & hot tub were perfect, breakfast was good (although, the breakfast room seems too small for amount of rooms in hotel - pretty crowded).

Great 11am check out time (if you like to sleep in like we do!), and location is perfect! Staff was all very friendly & helpful!

So glad we tried ONE LAST place before giving up and heading home & chose Comfort Inn. Made the last day of our trip the most relaxing & comfortable we'd felt the whole week!

Will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dw622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The front desk staff was exceptional. They were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean, and looked rather new. The breakfast had a wide variety and was very good. If we return to the area we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amypylman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have some special needs regarding the bed and a little assistance. The staff from the Manager on down were all extremely helpful and pleasant. They truly went the "extra mile" by not only assisting in every way I asked but suggesting one or two other things they could do to help me.
A great room and one of the best motel breakfasts I've encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seamus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed here while attending a sports tournament during peak summer city events (Traverse City Film Festival). The city was jammed and all hotels were booked. We ended up in this hotel as the team hotel could not accommodate us; we were lucky!!! This is a terrific small hotel. The person/team who did the updating should be commended. Room appointments are very nice in a modern/traditional style with comfortable beds and all functionality (armoire, coffee makers, fridge, free internet access, flat screen TV, granite sink/shelving and nicely tiled bathroom). There is a fieldstone fireplace in the foyer with modern couches and nice breakfast area. The entire hotel was spotless and we could tell, well cared for with excellent staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend this to anyone. The only reason to give this hotel 3 dots (only) for value is that rooms over $200.00 we felt were a bit high; but this was peak season on the lake and we reserved late.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbum555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#11 of 40 in Traverse City
782 reviews
1.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Address: 460 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $82 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing