We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location and good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good location and good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel was in a good location and rooms were updated and very pleasant. The breakfast was better than a normal comfort inn, so that was a nice surprise. Service was good also. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    108
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
106
128
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights. The location was perfect for visiting the traverse city area. Close to old mission peninsula and the shuttle downtown was a nice perk. The breakfast was great! Lots of healthy options. We would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just returned from the Comfort Inn in Traverse City, Michigan, and I cannot say enough about how great this place is! The rooms are very clean and up-to-date. Great location, close to everything. Very nice breakfast and plenty of tables for everyone to sit. This place is really different from most, as it has the pool and big hot tub and the fitness ctr open 24 hours. This is really nice to come back to from a late night dinner, vs. other hotels when you return from a great day and the pool and hot tub are closed already. The customer service is excellent here, when I inquired about how much it would be to upgrade the room the 2nd night so that the teens could have their own bedroom, the manager gave it to us happily and without any extra charge, and moved our luggage for us while we were out shopping! Every one of the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful too as far as "things to do", and I noticed that all of the staff is continually tidy-ing up things around the lobby area. We will for sure be back to stay and recommend to others as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 141, a two bedroom suite, very close to the pool and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmp19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for getting around TC and surrounding areas. From the outside it appears to be an average hotel but inside the rooms were clean and spacious which is extremely important for me. They also had a microwave and refrigerator in the room which was nice feature to have. An added bonus was the free breakfast every morning which had both hot and cold food options.

My only complaint was when asking front desk staff for directions, suggestions on attractions, beaches, restaurants, churches, etc they weren't very helpful. Fortunately I had done some leg work ahead of time but would have been completely clueless on what to do had I relied on help from the hotel staff. Also you would think working at a hotel in a tourist area they would have experienced first hand some of the attractions and been able to speak of them.

Would definately stay at this hotel again when coming to TC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family stayed here for a vacation earlier this month. It's very close to downtown Traverse City and many area things - golf, putt putt, family fun centers, shopping, the beach, great restaurants, etc... The hotel is 2 floors, some regular rooms, some suites. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which was nice when our son went to bed before us, but I wish there had been a couch or a larger table in the room for lounging, playing some games in the evening or having a meal in the room. There was a small fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker in the room, which was nice, we were able to bring some food and have at least one lunch in our room to save money. The pool area was nice, though the pool a bit small compared to other hotels we've stayed at - got crowded in the afternoons. The complimentary breakfast was the same every day, but it was hot (or cold depending on what you wanted to eat), and it tasted fresh and good. Overall, we really liked the hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebaysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in a pretty good location, not too far from the downtown area. The rooms were nice but not huge. Beds were very comfy and the bathroom had granite countertops. Nice 42 inch flat screen TV. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good - full breakfast fare with make your own waffles and hot foods like eggs and sausage - but also fruit, yogurt, pastries, etc.
The best part was that they share a shuttle bus with Cambria Suites that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius for free. We used this 2 nights to go to dinner in town so we did not have to drive. They were very punctual in picking you back up as well and the service runs until midnight. The in door pool looked nice - it was open 24 hours a day. I would stay here again. One con is that there is not restaurant or bar on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winetraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed here for 3 nights. Overall this was a very nice place to stay in a great city. I would not hesitate to recomment this hitel to anyone.

Staff was very nice. Breakfast was good. Pool was open 24 hours a day.

If we had any suggestions we would suggest adding outlets on the night stands. We suggest this in most places. Also a nice addition for any hotel with a pool would be a bathing suit spinner/dryer. This would be especially helpful for travellers so the suits would be dryer than just letting them hang. We have not seen this at hotels much if at all but sure would be handy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank n3ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Property: Comfort Inn Traverse City
Address: 460 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing