We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mission Table

Mission Table
Ranked #83 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
“Don't Miss!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had dinner for four with a gourgeous view of the sunset. Food was fantastic as well as the service!!! We have been visiting this area for many years and the change from Bowers Harbor is great!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Where have you gone, Bowers Harbor?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This has been a family and friends favorite for over 30 years. New ownership brought a new concept to this once special and inspired place. Gone is the beloved fish in a bag, replaced by "trout in parchment" with couscous and fennel salad. Other entrees and accompaniments now include pickled mustard seed, smoked raisins, bacon fat redskins and rabbit slow-cooked in mangalitsa fat. Really?

We had a reservation for 4, were seated and given menus, but no one ever came to offer us water, other beverages or bread. My sense is that this is their standard - to give people the chance to review the menu before offering them anything. We all looked at each other and honestly couldn't find anything we wanted to order - so we let the hostess know and left.

What a disappointment! This restaurant truly has one of the most spectacular views in all of northwest Michigan. We had our engagement dinner there and have many wonderful memories of a special, intimate place . . . but memories are all we will ever have of this place, as we wouldn't return (and have made sure many others know of our experience).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank siouxbdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I really love this place. Great venue ... all of the seating areas are spectacular. This time we sat on the patio to watch the sunset. Service was superb. I ordered the tofu and my friend had the pork belly something rather... both were great. Desert was also wonderful. Can't wait to go back there soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luisa1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I visited here with a good friend in July and enjoyed a wonderful meal. We sat outside and when a light rain began to fall, our umbrella kept us dry and the waitress didn't mind having us stay at the table to enjoy our meal. Good service, good food, good wine...it was perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, gorgeous space, rotten service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I brought 14 for dinner here on a Saturday night in August. The space was beautifully appointed, the views were lovely and the long table down the center of the restaurant was perfect for a group our size.

The food was very tasty with an emphasis on local ingredients, well prepared and interesting, and a good value. The menu is small but varied enough to saftisfy.They only serve local spirits, including those they make themselves, and they were acceptable.

The service, on the other hand, was inconsistent with such a beautiful space and menu. At the beginning of our meal we had 2 waiters, one of whom was knowledgable, personable, and very professional. Once the orders were taken, we were left with an inattentive waiter who negelcted to notice that 2 of our party were not served (in fact, their food was sitting on a tray next to the table).

Despite the decline in level of service, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the mood for something a bit different.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Table also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Mission Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing