We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special exhibit made it worthwhile”

Dennos Museum Center
Ranked #17 of 113 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, the Dennos Museum Center offers an ongoing array of changing exhibits in the arts and sciences. The museum holds and exhibits one of the largest and most historically complete collections of stone sculpture, prints and drawings by the Inuit artists of the Canadian Arctic, in the United States. Its hands-on Discover Gallery features interactive engagement with the arts and sciences. The museum produces a concert series of blues, jazz and world music and other entertainment forms each year from September to May in the center’s 367 seat Milliken Auditorium and hosts performances by other community groups throughout the year.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Special exhibit made it worthwhile”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Bird of Paradise exhibit was the only saving grace at this museum. If it wasn't for that exhibit, we would have been very disappointed esp. as admission was $10 per person. Took us about an hour and we had seen everything. The Intuit exhibit was basically paintings and ceramics - not much information on the tribe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PTCruisin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennemanE, Manager at Dennos Museum Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on the museum. For clarification the admission price was increased only during this exhibition run for the purpose of covering the considerable additional expenses to bring an exhibition of the stature of Birds of Paradise to the Dennos from National Geographic.

This was an exceptional opportunity to bring such a unique and outstanding exhibition to a smaller market such as Traverse City. The increased admission fee made it possible to have this opportunity for our region which proved to be successful for the museum both in attendance and generating the revenues needed to cover the costs involved.

With the conclusion of Birds of Paradise we have returned to our usual admission rates, while still providing, we believe, outstanding exhibitions for our community in the arts and sciences.

Again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fastastic special exhibit”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were so pleasantly pleased with our visit to the Dennos Museum center on the campus of Northwestern Michigan University. The National Geographic traveling exhibit dedicated to the 39 species of Birds of Paradise was fantastic.

The layout was perfect, the staff was friendly and the information presented all combined to equal a great learning experience and visit.

Don't miss the short film (just past the front desk) that shows the field scientists completing their research. What dedication and passion. You've got to just love those Birds of Paradise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Well-Done”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the Dennos immediately after the open of the Birds of Paradise exhibit, which was absolutely extraordinary. I've visited museums in Chicago, Washington D.C., and Boston, but the Dennos is one of my favorites. The Birds of Paradise exhibit was extraordinarily well thought out and put together, making for an informative and entertaining multi-media experience.

The rest of the museum was interesting as well, and the children's area was extremely fun for a pair of twenty-somethings. It would be a shame if you didn't visit the Dennos while in Traverse City.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freemajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Birds of Paradise”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Found out they are having the "Birds of Paradise" exhibit right now. This is worth the price of admission. This is the story of the two biologists (one from Hope College in West Michigan) who documented all 37 varieties of the Birds of Paradise. Lots of great video footage. Interesting exhibits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Museum if you love Inuit Art”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I love Inuit Art and the people at the Museum were wonderful to me. I really really enjoyed my visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennos Museum Center also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Dennos Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing