We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change comes slowly, oh so slowly...”

Dennos Museum Center
Ranked #16 of 115 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, the Dennos Museum Center offers an ongoing array of changing exhibits in the arts and sciences. The museum holds and exhibits one of the largest and most historically complete collections of stone sculpture, prints and drawings by the Inuit artists of the Canadian Arctic, in the United States. Its hands-on Discover Gallery features interactive engagement with the arts and sciences. The museum produces a concert series of blues, jazz and world music and other entertainment forms each year from September to May in the center’s 367 seat Milliken Auditorium and hosts performances by other community groups throughout the year.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

As a local and an ex-student of the college, i used to spend a lot of time there.... and after having been to some of the bigger art museums in the country i find the dennos strangly halted in time. Unless you're really into Inuit art, there's not really much to draw you in unless you are attending a performance.

Thank litatir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennemanE, Manager at Dennos Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your review and for visiting the Dennos. Our changing exhibitions cycle on average four times per year, however some exhibitions may be installed for more than a typical three month term, some for shorter periods of time. So it does depend on how often you visit within certain times that will impact your experience with our changing galleries. If you are a regular concert attendee you will likely see the same exhibitions more than once during our concert season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

The glass exhibit that we saw was very well done. This is a really nice museum and a great find in Traverse City.

1  Thank apearl0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Denno's has facinating and beautifully displayed exhibits. It is sort of small and personal and always interesting.

Thank ROMINTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went there to view art quilt show but liked other ongoing exhibs more. Very fun interactive exhib

Thank rlav48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a place I always try to stop at on my frequent visits to Traverse City. The building itself is attractive, the exhibits professionally displayed, and ample information provided regarding what is on show. There are fun interactive activities for children (or adults) and a pleasant gift shop with attractive and not too pricey items on display.

I always leave satisfied that I have spent my time well.

Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennemanE, General Manager at Dennos Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Dennos Museum Center. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed both of your recent visits.

You did note that several of our exhibitions in your two recent visits featured artists of Asian origin and we are very pleased to able to show their work.

To a great extent the presentation of works by contemporary Asian artists comes from seeing truly unique or outstanding work by artists of Asian origin, most now living in the USA. The fact that they were Asian had nothing to do with their selection, it was the unique quality of their work that resulted in their invitation to exhibit. The exception being the Chinese photography exhibition in the summer of 2014, which we organized with M97 Gallery in Shanghai.

All this is a long way of saying we are not becoming an Asian art museum, rather that there is, from our perspective, some very interesting work that happens to be being done by artists of Asian origin and we are most interested in showing work that is out of the ordinary. Work that gives out visitors truly memorable experiences when visiting the Dennos Museum Center, whether the artists are now living in Beijing, Baltimore, Ann Arbor, New York or regionally as in the current mix of exhibitions.

Thank you again for your visit and review. Come back after January 24, 2015 for a whole new round of exhibitions that we believe will be as memorable as what you saw on your last two visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennos Museum Center also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Dennos Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing