We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Ginger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Let me start out by saying, my girlfiend and I are still talking about the tuna hand roll we had here. Being a huge tuna lover and sushi fan, I have very high standards. We walked in without a reservation on a Saturday evening and were told we had a 30 to 40 minute wait. After standing around the bar for 10 minutes, we were lucky to grab a seat at the bar. We ended up just staying there for our meal. We split a couple appetizers and ordered the tuna entree to split. I have to say I wad not impressed with the portion size of the tuna entree for $30.00, but the appetizers certainly made up for that. In addition to the sushi hand roll we had tofu lettuce wraps, which had an amazing sauce in it. They also had a good drink menu with yout typical downtown prices for this kind of resturant. With splitting the two appetizers, the meal, and having two signaure drinks each, i think our bill was about $100.00. I have heard from locals that they have a great happy hour, which I will definetly be back to try. I am excited to return to TC and come back to Red Ginger!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank staces_480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    160
    45
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
197 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wonderful Asian fusion food. Service was great. Great utensils and dishes. Food was fresh and well presented,as well as tasty. Lunch is a good way to try the place as it can be pricey for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This don't miss dining spot in downtown Traverse City has all the right qualities; excellent and imaginative food, knowledgeable waitstaff, friendly service and unhurried service. The dining experience was top notch. We truly appreciated the suggestions from the servers and the fish dishes from certified sustainable sources.
Go. You won't be disappointed. Just be sure to make reservations in advance. Other people have found this place, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just sat at the Sushi Bar. It was during the Cherry Festival so it took a while to get our food, but it was worth the wait. Drinks were great as well. I would go back for sure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food was great along with the service. I was impressed by how the restaurant is managed. I wanted to surprise a friend for a birthday and when we got to the table the restaurant had a birthday card waiting at the table signed from all the staff. I thought it was a great touch. I order the Cucumber martini and it was a bit strong. Also had the Calamari which was excellent!! The Sea bass was great but I thought the sauce was a little sweet. My friend had the Shaking beef and I thought the beef was well marinated. Overall I would recommend this restaurant. It is worth a try. Very impressed for a small city restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing