We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent family resort”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our 6th trip to Crystal Moutain and it is now a family tradition. Staying at Crystal is like going to camp for families, there are numerous activities every day and no need to leave the resort, although the sourrong area, particulary Leelenau County, is too beautiful not to be explored. The staff at Crystal is great and very good with the kids; especially at encouraging them on activities such as rock climbing and zip lining. Most of the staff are college kids. Family golf night on Wednesday is a must! For $15 PP it is unlimited golf with a cart and you get a hot dog, chips and pop before you tee off. The kids love the chairlift rides the best on Wednesday and Saturday nights. The resort is clean, quiet and perfectly suited to families. We stay at the pinehurst condos. They are a bit dated, but the location is ideal and we enjoy sitting on the back deck and watching the golfers on the 9th hole of the Bestie Valley course. We travel to Disney at least one a year and other locations, but Crystal Mountain is a family favorite!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    146
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
348
145
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Love Michigan in the summer and as a first time visitor to CM (South Haven is a favorite destination), the resort showed off the summer well. We were there for a wedding and our joint families included more than 100 people. The group stayed in almost every accommodation offered. We were in Kinlochen - a wonderful condo in a hotel like building - modern yet a "mountain" feel, close to all the action and the full kitchen was great. Staff is amazingly friendly/helpful - in fact, someone noted that they must train the staff at Disney. My older teenage son was wondering what he would do for our stay, but after the mountain biking, kayaking, alpine sliding, pooling, workout up the side of the mountain and in the fitness area (with non stop classes!), he loved every minute. The spa is an A plus. I have visited many wonderful spas in the U.S. and this spa did not disappoint - high end, relaxing, and all the fun spa treats (from great locker area and to lotions to the fun teas and treats). I didn't eat at the restaurants due to all the wedding activities so can't comment on the dining (expect for the cherry chicken wrap at the pool which was really good). I wish we had been there for an entire week rather than three days. If you haven't considered CM, definitely do so. Wish we would have had time to get to the Dunes, but maybe next time.

Room Tip: Kinlochen is at the bottom of the slopes and the golf carts start in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family stayed at Crystal Mountain Resort the last week of June. This was our first trip to CM. The resort was really nice, everything was very clean, lovely landscaping and nice accommodations to fit every budget. We stayed in the Wintergreen Condos and they were great. Clean, nicely furnished and steps from the pool. Even had a patio and grill out back. One night we grilled out and enjoyed the pretty landscaping. The cottages looked really neat, as well.

The customer service is top notch! The staff running the activities were great. My kids did a few of the crafts and the staff went out of their way to engage the kids and talk to them. They also did the rock wall and Adventure course and again, great customer service. We also did the family bonfire and rode the chair lift to the top of the mountain to listen to music. The staff running these activities went out of their way to talk to us. We went to get pizza one night at Little Betsie Bistro and were five minutes past closing and they still cheerfully helped us.

The one issue we had was a big one for our family though, and may prevent us from coming back in the future despite the great staff and lovely resort. This place really shuts down early. The pool and Adventure course area closed at 8pm all week. (It was open till 9pm on the weekend). Really? It's light outside until at least 9:30 and warm out and my family would have loved to hang out at the pool. I was not the only one. I was talking to a couple other families at the indoor pool which also closes early and they were disappointed, as well. One night a family outdoor movie was scheduled. When we arrived there was a note posted that said due to weather it was cancelled. This was surprising as we had just attended the chairlift to the top of the mountain to listen to music from 7-9 pm and weather was fine enough to run a chairlift. We were told by staff running chairlift they would move the movie indoors if weather was not good. So, another night with nothing to do. The movie was not moved indoors, just cancelled. The resort is in the middle of nowhere so it's not like you can just drive to the movies or find something run to do nearby.

It was really disappointing with the evening schedule, because the activities we did during the day are top notch as are the staff running them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micaryan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Well kept facilities in every area of the resort. Friendly staff that was always attentive. First time I have ever seen lifeguards tested by having a dummy thrown in the pool in the 5 seconds they were out of view of a small section of their assigned area. Saw a man driving a maintenance vehicle stop just to help someone carry their suitcases up. So many activities included with your stay. Very kid friendly. Rooms were better soundproofed than anywhere I can recall ever staying in the past which helps everyone sleep better. We stayed in a hotel room with kitchenette with a nice view of the ski hills. We ate at 2 of the restaurants which were both really good and reasonably priced for being at a resort. We also toured one of the cottages which are very nice. Look forward to getting back when we can. Definitely recommend for families or couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Crystal for 17+ years. It has never disappointed. It gets better every year with new attractions and activities for the family. Accommodations are expansive in choice for a wide array of family/group sizes. Golf is fantastic and the surrounding area provides endless opportunity to explore beautiful northern Michigan. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jandafraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

just want you to know we had our stay last week and it was EXCEPTIONAL. I can not get over how every single person I dealt with from Reservations clear back in March to lifeguards, housekeeping, front desk, chairlift, EVERYONE was SO exceptionally nice and friendly. The whole resort always went out of their way to be accommodating. We went to the Poconos last year and never experienced anything like this - in fact it was quite rude and arrogant. We are from the Midwest,too, (Ohio) and you make us proud.
I read one review that said the lifeguards circling the pool did not make for a relaxing atmosphere. I, on the other hand, totally appreciated how serious they did their job and it made it MUCH more relaxing for me with 7 grandchildren in the pool to know they were paying close attention.
Bug spray is a definite item to pack and would like to see WiFi in the resort homes in the future. The activities for children were wonderful. Also, had adult children who loved the mountain biking but were a little frustrated they could only get 3 mountain bikes at a time and needed 4.
Absolutely loved getting tickets to slide and climb as part of summer package deal. It was very much appreciated that we were able to trade tickets for the Adventure Course (which none of our 7 grandchildren were big enough to do) for tickets to the Alpine Slide (which they could do with a parent). That never would've happened where we were at last year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhmlgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Crystal Mountain for four nights the last week of June. We stayed in a Hamlet room, four of us, myself, my husband and my 13 and 10 year old sons. The room was plenty big with a table and four chairs and a nice kitchen with decent size fridge and microwave, sink and cabinets. The resort is such a well kept place, all the buildings are alpine themed looking which makes it such a charming place. The Hamlet was right in the middle of the resort and it was a two minute walk to everything: pool, alpine slide, restaurants. We all loved the alpine slide and the pool. My son loved the adventure course with zip line and its right by the pool so you don't have to leave pool - they can go from pool to course and back as many times as they want. We had the Pure MIchigan plan which was great because we could ride slide and adventure course unlimited. My younger son also liked the daily craft and candy. We didn't notice any mosquitoes so I'm not sure if other visitors stayed at the places on top of the mountain but the Hamlet is near the entrance to resort.
We ordered sandwiches and pizza from Betsie's, just call ahead and place order and walk right across to get them, and they were generous sized portions. The Thistle was over priced and not that good, but the breakfast buffet at the Wild Tomatoe was delicious, didn't seem like the usual hotel brunches, great selection of items and all good.
We went to Sleeping Bear Dunes one day, about a 35 minute drive.
Overall we just loved this place, there is tons for the kids to do, pool was great for little ones with the zero depth side and older ones with basketball hoops and volleyball net. Great experience! Staff was very nice, especially the guys running the slide and the gals in the moutain zone and the pool house. Also the food at the beach grill was good, and try the ice cream!

Room Tip: Hamlet rooms are right in middle of everything and were plenty big for four of us. The bungalows aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie05342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
9.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
14.7 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
148 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
21.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
22.6 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Property: Crystal Mountain
Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 56 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing