We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“crystal mountain is awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“crystal mountain is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

just got back from CM on Easter Sunday. It has quickly become my favourite ski resort in Michigan. Easy to get to. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. A nice variety of ski runs. Never any line ups at the lifts (although it was Easter weekend...not a lot of people). The condo was clean and literally a 2-3 minute walk to the chair lift. They have one of the best spas in Michigan and the Thistle restaurant is awesome. Try both. Very kid friendly, even the lift operators were very attentive to and interactive with my kids. I will certainly return to CM.

Room Tip: The condo's are great (a little dated but it met our needs). You can put 2 adults and 3 kids in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    139
    32
    15
    5
See reviews for
325
141
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went during the last week of winter for Skiing and enjoyed my stay with my wife. The place is run very professionally and well organized. Room was spacious for two people and the jetted tub provided some much needed help after a whole day of Skiing. There are lot of activities for house guests like paintball, laser tag, wall climbing and few others. There are a couple of good restaurants that serve good quality food and room delivery. Grocery store is a little costly but the only place you can buy something if you plan to stay longer.

Room Tip: Inn at the mountain, Bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdarshPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently returned from our first visit to Crystal Mountain. Our only complaint is that the stay was "too short." We are a family of 4, kids ages 5 and 1 1/2. We stayed at the Inn at the Mountain, which gave us a one bedroom suite, murphey bed for the kids in the living area, and small kitchenette. The building had a really nice area steps up from the main lobby that had a fire place with seating, a small kids play house with blocks and puppets, and some tables with puzzles. There were also two computers with internet here. Our kids loved having this area to unwind at in the evenings, and one night we enjoyed a drink with another couple while the kids played. Crystal Mountain exceeded our expectations, the staff really made a difference, from the ski instructors for our 5 year old, to the rental staff, and the restaurant staff. Everyone went out of their way to make things easier, fun, and special. The resort is big enough to have a "village" feel and variety in skiing, but small enough to be very family friendly and easy to navigate with children. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: The Inn had nice suites, great for families and included a ski locker for our gear. The breakfast r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoscubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are "outdoorsy" people, and my kids and I had never skiied. I am so grateful that I discovered this wonderful place! As a hotel manager, I am very discerning when it comes to facilities and service. Crystal Mountain exceeded my expectations at every turn. From Nicole in reservations, to Dee Dee at the desk,to the shuttle drivers, the guest service experience was amazing. The resort and room looked just like the website--a real rarity! We can't wait to return--as a skiing family! Next time we're actually going to take advantage of the other amenities!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

From first arriving on the property we knew this was going to be a great trip. All of the facilities are well kept and the staff goes above and beyond. I can't say I saw one unfriendly person during our entire stay. The rooms are amazing. We stayed in a Hamlet slopeside which has a mini kitchenette with silverware, utensils, plates, a toaster and a microwave. The room also had a 2 person jacuzzi tub which was great to relax in after a day on the slopes. The rooms are very clean and well decorated.

The skiing is amazing here. they have a great variety of green and blue runs and the kids program was top notch. We put our 4 year old daughter in the ski and care program which was nice. With it being late season my daughter had 2 instructors all to herself. Afterwards she was off to the adventure cubs for llunch followed by an afternoon of playing. She had so much fun that she went back for the kids night out and Mom and I hit the slopes for some night skiing.

The fitness center is nice with a pool and fitness room with many free fitness classes for guests. One strange policy was no floating rings or beach balls in the pool. I have yet to see a child injured by an inflatable beach ball but I guess anything is possible!

There are numerous restaurants on the property but I will say there pizza was great. After a day of skiing we had no interest in sitting for an elaborate meal and a quick pie took care of dinner.

The groomers were out in force every night making for great groomed runs through most of the day. They also have a glade area if that is your thing as well.

Overall I was considering a trip to Boyne next year but Crystal has won us over.

Room Tip: Hamlet are truly slopeside while the Colony is advertised as slopeside but you would have to walk. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCJr824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent, family friendly facility. This was our second trip in as many years. We went on the Canadian March Break. Friends of ours were paying much higher prices elsewhere and Crystal Mountain was way less expensive and just as good or better facilities.There are 6 total in our family and this is one of a few vacations we can afford and we think it is the best! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Inn at the Mountain was quiet and fairly roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in the Hamlet. Room and bathroom were nice and big and clean. Bathroom is equipped with shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion, and facial cleanser from the Crystal Spa, very nice touch. The Cheers lift is right in front of the Hamlet so you don't have to walk far. Ski/snowboard lockers are right outside, slopeside as well. I think the Hamlet is the best location, convenient short walks to everything, including the lifts. This was our first time at Crystal Mountain and my only complaint is that we went so late in the season...I want to go back already and spend more time! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staircase if you are concerned with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
14.7 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
23.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
22.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Property: Crystal Mountain
Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 56 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing