We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crystal Mountain is the best ski resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crystal Mountain is the best ski resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My experience at Crystal Mountain was excellent! The grounds are so beautiful, and our hotel room was so much nicer than I expected....plush beds, jacuzzi, kitchenette, and a view of the slopes! The slopes were all groomed, and they had races going on so it was fun with our group to watch. After the races were over they even invited those skiing to race as well. I highly recommend this resort and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Get a room in Hamlet, you can ski right up to your room and the pool/hot tub is right behind the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    146
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
348
145
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here over the MLK weekend. It had been 10+ years since our last stay. The resort has grown and they have done a wonderful job with the expansion and integration of the old with the new. We stayed in a standard room in The Colony right next to Kinlochen. Had I been more frugal and better prepared, we could have easily eaten breakfast and lunch in our room; rooms include a frig, microwave, and dishes. The restaurant choices are limited but you’re close to Traverse City and Glen Arbor so there are more choices out there. As one of the other writers said, this is Michigan not Colorado so don’t expect to ski like you are in the Rockies, but the skiing is very good for Michigan. Really fun time, great location, we’ll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightbythesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying, I don't ski and I don't golf and as far as I'm concerned that shouldn't deter anyone from coming here. The drive all alone makes me happy. The restaurants are nothing special, but I'd eat there when I don't feel like leaving the resort. It's a scenic drive to places like minister, Frankfort, and f
Traverse. I've stayed mostly in Pinehurst condos and love them. Plenty of room woodsy decor and a full blown kitchen. Head to Benzonia and get some groceries. Just go there, your a fool if you don't love it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shine1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family of 6 spent a long weekend here, staying at the Wintergreen condo on property. I grew up in Colorado and am an avid skier, and make no mistake: this is not Colorado! The mountain, though, is good for my beginner and intermediate-skier kids (age 7 to 17). There's enough terrain variety to make it intersting for all, and the cost of the lift tickets, rentals, and lessons is very reasonable.
We especially liked the Wintergreen condo we got: there were three bedrooms, a nice living room and kitchen, and a large hot tub as well as 2 full bathrooms. With 6, I often have to cram us into 2 rooms. This option was much better for us: affordable and allowed us all to be together. The small downside is that it is about a 5 minute walk from the slopes, which is tricky for a dad carrying some of his younger children's ski stuff. There are a few restaurant choices on the property, which you're not likely to leave if you visit (not a lot of great food options in the area). The "nice" restaurant, Thistles at Kinlocken, in very good. I STRONGLY recommend making reservations at least a few weeks in advance, though, as it is hard to get a table there last minute on a busy weekend. The resort also has options such as dog sledding (which we didn't do) and a horse-drawn night carriage ride (kinda' nice, but VERY cold). Also, all guests can use the pool and work-out facilities (very crowded with kids in the pool around 3 to 5 PM). All in all, though, this is an afordable option for a family ski trip that is accesible by car for us living in the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Wintergreen has a lot of room for bigger groups. I'd recommend "Hamlet" for groups of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Trying to find a place to go on vacation with our 5 month old and our dog, we saw this resort on a groupon. It turned out to be a great choice. We went the end of September, so it wasn't very crowded, which was actually perfect for us. Mom got to have her spa day (and workout), which she absolutely loved, while dad, son, and dog roamed the property. The dog loved it since she got to run around the bottom of the ski slopes, while baby didn't know any better. I saw the map of the slopes, which looked pretty cool. It's been a while since I've skied, but would consider coming back here in season.

As far as other things to do besides relax, they have a good restaurant on the property. We also did some driving around...about 40 minutes to traverse city, which was a nice, and we also found a nice family restaurant about 20 minutes away too.

The main reason for this trip was relaxation. Now, with a 5 month old and a dog, there wasn't total relaxation, but crystal mountain did its part. Definitely would be nice to come back during ski season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

WOW what an experince. We were able to save money by booking a Sunday night through Thursady night stay as well as chose the week the schools went back so the slopes were not as busy.My child who had never skiied in his life (7 years) with three full days of lesssons, became a confident skiier that could go down easy black slopes. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The spa facilities ..... WOW ....... from the steam shower, to the relax room, to the treatment rooms. We got a room with a kitchen and cooked all our our meals. We also were able to do some dog sledding which was a great experince but could have been a little bit longer. Otherwise we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonville michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wonderful resort, stayed in late fall, 2 Great golf courses, great restaurant. Food was excellent.
Hotel was very comfortable had king size bed, mini suite, couch, kitchenette. Nice clean rooms, had jacquzzi tub. Very nice stay. Everything is within walking distance, just like a skiing town.
Skiing is avail, in winter months. Golf courses are beautiful, views are outstanding. Challenging golf for everyone. They also have a spa, my wife and I did the couples massage and it was great, the people were so nice, and friendly. We would recommend it to anyone. We will be doing this again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
9.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.7 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
21.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
22.6 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Property: Crystal Mountain
Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 56 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing