We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bi-annual Spa Treat !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bi-annual Spa Treat !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

There are four of us that make the 35 minute drive to Crystal Mountain Resort & Spa twice a year..treating ourselves to a full day of treatments and an overnight in a beautiful 3 bedroom condo. The resort is spectacular, the grounds are spectacular,the condo is spectacular..but the crowning jewel for us is the spa. The moment you walk in you are greeted by the wonderful front desk staff..Lakata & Corena ( forgive me if the spelling is not correct ) they both go so far out of their way to make everything perfect & so helpful. If you are wanting a treatment of a lifetime try the Evergreen with Tara..OMG !! It was perfect. Thank you Crystal Mnt. for providing such an outstanding adventure for the four of us to experience twice a year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueintc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    146
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
346
144
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I enjoyed a ski weekend at Crystal with a couple friends in January. We stayed in the Crystal Colony rooms. It was just what we needed and not much more. Certainly was clean, well furnished with 2 queen beds, table and chairs, kitchenette, large TV, and full bath (with jetted tub). I appreciated the 2 vanities for getting ready. There was a nice tiled area upon entering the room to leave wet ski boots and shoes. There wasn't much view on the ground level and I would HIGHLY recommend getting an upper floor room if you don't mind a few stairs to avoid the noise of guests above you slamming their ski boots on the floor. Also ask for a room facing the lifts rather than the parking lot. I really like the ski locker located at the far end of the hotel that was opened by our room key. The price was more than I would usually pay for this type of room but consifering it's at a ski resort it's more acceptable. In the future however, I would probably try to get into the Hamlet rooms as they are more centrally located.

Room Tip: Upper floor room, ask for a corner room and one with a fireplace if available. The ski locker is loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chazurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We arrived at Crystal Mountain in the middle of a blizzard on March 2nd. Our cottage (Juniper) was perfect in every way, layout, w/d, baths, fireplace, kitchen. I truly cannot complain. We shared the cabin with another family, 7 kids in all and all fit comfortably. Over 16 inches of snow fell Friday night, power outage at 1:00am. The resort handled it all so well. When power was restored at 9:00 the next morning (whole region was out), they had the lifts up and running by 11:00. It was a remarkable feat. We ate at the pizza place Friday night which was average but ate at the Thistle Saturday night. Food and ambience were good; I highly recommend making a reservation there in advance. I cannot say enough about the employees. They all were so happy and went out of their way to be helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We took advantage of a great deal from Travel Zoo...2-day lift tickets and equipment rental plus one night of lodging for two for just $189. The regular rates for these items totaled closer to $500, so the mid-week package was a real bargain.

Resort facilities were great overall. Our room in the Hamlet hotel section was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Very close to the lifts, so easy for ski-in, ski-out access, with ski lockers provided. The room had plenty of storage space, a kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and sink, plus dishes and utensils. There was a great split bathroom: small private room with stool, sink & mirror out in the open, then a larger private room with HUGE jetted bathtub and large shower with bench. Very nice toiletries are provided, including body wash, facial wash, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, all in a private label brand promoting the Crystal Spa - which we did not have a chance to visit this trip.

The skiing was fun, considering the changeable late-season conditions. Rental equipment was newer and appeared to be well-maintained. This is not a ski area that would challenge true expert skiers, but it was fine for us - very occasional skiers who haven't been out in a few years.

We had lunch at the Clipper Cafe at the lodge. The homemade soup was very good. We had dinner at the Thistle Pub and Grille. Food and prices were fair - dinner for two with shared appetizer & dessert and one glass of wine was around $75.

Staff at all locations from check-in, rental, lift lines and dining facilities were friendly and professional. We would definitely return to Crystal Mountain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHOLLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We love this intimate family-owned resort in Thompsonville. The skiing is great for beginners, and all the instructors we've had have been very professional and great with the kids. All of the facilities are well maintained, and the cottages are a great layout for families. It is easy to navigate and is truly ski-in, ski-out. The pub at Kinlochen is fantastic. The only piece of advice--stop along the way to buy grocieries if you are staying in a cottage or condo and planning to eat in. There is a little grocery at the resort if you've forgotten something, but it's expensive and quite basic. I did not try the spa, but a friend did and enjoyed her massage. The front desk staff are very good and welcoming.

Room Tip: The cottages by the lake are centrally located--you can walk to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I've lived in Michigan my entire life and it took me 45 years to finally make it to Crystal Mountain. The purpose of my trip was to ski until I couldn't stand! Crystal Mountain may not have the tallest "hill" in northern Michigan, but their customer service from the lodging to the staff manning the ski stations is outstanding. I was pleasantly suprised to find a nice variety of runs available. I'm an intermediate skiier and there were more than enough runs here with a large varitety - moguls, hills, bowls, straight and fast - you name it! This place always has some great deals going, especially if you aren't locked into just weekend getaways! Lift tickets and rental are cheaper here than at some of the other places further north. Great place for family too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

For the past several years my family has rented at Crystal. We have rented the cottages at Waters Edge and last week we rented one of the homes on the mountain. It was a perfect ski in and out home. It had everything we needed for the week. We just had to buy groceries and we were all set. We were able to house and feed 11 people. We cooked 3 meals a day and everyone skied in and out as they pleased. All skis and boards were placed at the door and were safely stored over night. The resort itself is beautiful to walk around and enjoy for the non-winter sports person. We had multiple generations together and everyone enjoyed their trip. I highly recommend Crystal to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
9.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.7 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
22.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Property: Crystal Mountain
Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 56 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing