We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days of Ski Fun.........”
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We took a group of 13 to Crystal Mountain and stayed in one of the Mountainside Townhouses for 3 days and 2 nights. We were blown away with how spacious everything was and how the entire resort was laid out. The skiing was really good for the beginner'ish level of most of the group and there was enough to keep everyone engaged. If you want immediate access to all the amenities, try to stay closer to the lodge and spa. Everything is a quick walk from down at the bottom. The pricing for food, spa, lift tickets and rental was very reasonable.

There was a tremendous value of arriving on Sunday and getting the lower rates. Traveling from Indy, the drive was only about 6 hours and makes it very manageable for a weekend get-a-way in the future.

I highly recommend the resort for couples, groups and families.

Room Tip: Mountainside and Mountain Top rooms are a drive down to the lodge, spa and food areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 746 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

I took my teenage son and one of his buddies here for a ski race camp. The experience, as always, exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Colony with a kitchenette, as feeding two teenage boys can be expensive. I did not ski, but found plenty to do while the boys did. Crystal is very green, with recycling everywhere, even in the units. The hot chocolate even comes in real mugs! I was moving between the parking lot and our unit when I dropped something. One CM employee came sprinting across the parking lot to help me, while another stopped his vacuum and came outside to help me, even carrying my stuff up the stairs to our unit. The staff here is just amazing. We could stay elsewhere for less money, but why? Everything is here and the customer service is just top drawer!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We've been to Crystal Mountain numerous times (I think maybe 6 or 7) and still enjoy the experience as though it was our first time here. We've stayed in the Wintergreen condos a few times, in a Kinlochen unit once or twice, in a house once, in the Water's Edge cottages twice so obviously, we like coming here and the overwhelming reason is the staff! From the reservation (phone) to the front desk to the ski slope crew...everyone is wonderful! We happened to come MLK week-end and they had newly fallen snow, so the skiing was great and the resort was busy! We went to the pool and exercise room and both areas were clean and well maintained.

We ate dinner at the Wild Tomato and the Thistle and Pub Grille. Both meals were okay...staff was running around like crazy although there were empty tables---the service at dinner was the only slightly negative experience for the week-end.

We've already booked a long week-end this summer at Crystal Mountain, I would suggest calling the 1-800 number and speaking to a reservation operator on the phone. Initially, I booked online and decided to call and check out the accomodations and found out from the super helpful reservation person that the condo that I'd booked online would have required me to change rooms each night!!! She said that they try and straighten that out before you arrive...but if they couldn't....??? So call and talk to someone live!

Room Tip: Speak directly with a reservation operator! They are super friendly and helpful. Can't say eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michigan Mom of three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Anotherwise nice stay was marred by a nasty KimBerly, a staff member at the kinlochen who had to tell me in front of others in the lobby that my dog could no longer use the elevator (as she has before on many other stays) and must use the back stairs to go up two floors to our room. So if you have an older dog one who has problems with stairs watch out.. And the way it was handled by KimBerly was horrible, so much for good hospitality maybe she needs attitude adjustment or a refresher or maybe she just does not like pets. Oh and later that day there was a dog in the lobby while people were eating food and those owners were not singled out

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This resort is wonderful! This was our first time here, but certainly not our last. The staff is great, the food was exceptional and the skiing was fun for our whole family with nice green hills for the beginners, blue hills and black hills that gave the more advanced some challenges. We had never even thought of going to Michigan for skiing, but the weather this year in PA and NY was a little warm, so we decided to go to our neighbor to the north. What a good idea!

Room Tip: We had a suite because we were travelling with our adult son. The pull out wall bed was comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeJay180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We took about 75 High School Seniors for a 2 day ski trip over a long weekend. All of the students were beginners, and the ski resort was a great place for them to learn. The staff was extremely accommodating, and made the process for a large group unbelievably easy and smooth. The provided us with a room to use as home base where the kids could keep all their stuff, and they set aside all our ski equipment before we even got there. The chair life operators are helpful and friendly, and the slopes are well groomed. Even with a packed house on Sunday, the wait for the chairlifts was not long. Overall it was a great experience, and I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

drove up from chicago last friday, it took 5 hours which included 3 brief stops, one for speeding in indiana (luckily i got a warning), one for gas and one bathroom stop, the drive was very easy and there was no traffic at all

we arrived around 2:30pm, we were not able to check in yet because our room was no ready so we went and signed up for lessons, check in time is officially 5pm and many people do end up waiting that long, we got our room around 4;15

our room was in pinehurst, room 445, i loved our room, its a studio, very high ceilings with a large sky light, huge jacuzzi tub, small kitchen with fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker and toaster, there were two outdoor seating areas, one in the front with a sliding glass door and one at the rooms entrance that had benches, the building had about 12 units, ours was the end unit so we did not have anyone above us, do not get a room on the second floor if you have little kids, the stairs are not good for little ones, anyways i could not have been happier with our room

originally we were also looking at crystal colony and hamlet as they were the same price, these units are more cookie cuter condo units although they are closer to the slopes, if you look at a map, our room was just across the street from kinlochen, this looked like a great place to stay as well

walking isnt an issue, it only took maybe 5 minutes from our room to the kids ski school which is the farthest spot, but they also have a free shuttle that will pick you up, since my daughter is little and was tired, we did use the shuttle two times

after we settled in we were off to the inn where they had storytime at 5pm, it was nice, its located at the fireplace which also has an indoor pay area for kids which makes the inn a great place to stay with little kids, then we went to the kids ski school which had painting and playtime and then back to the inn for a craft, finally had dinner at thistle, it was great, they have a peak performance menu which is mostly local and healthy, i had the ahi tuna sandwich which was really really good!

sign up for text alerts while you are there, we saved $5 on our dinner that night

saturday morning we were at the ski school at 830ish, my daughter got her skis and was off to school until 4pm

i took a lesson at 10am, it was ok, nothing amazing but it was $24 and it was with skip who is really nice

the employees at the resort really go out of their way to help, i didnt have any cash on me at the rentals and forgot id need somewhere to put my shoes so they guy at the ski desk gave me a token for a locker ($1 bills are needed to get a token) and even stored my skis overnight for free (regular price $5) when i asked about the ski valet and told him its too much for me to take them back to our ski locker at the room with a 2.5 year old

the snow is man made this year, i had a great time skiing, i hadnt skied since i had my daughter, the conditions are not perfect and it is not colorado but i really did have a great time

saturday we went to the inn at 5;30 for another craft and then did the 6;40 horse ride, this was nice its $10, little kids are free, you meet up over by the tennis courts and they have a bonfire and you can make marshmellows and they have hot chocolate, the horse ride is about 30 minutes, it was nice this night since it was snowing

my daughter was too tired for dinner tonight so we just went back to the room and ate some things that we brought

back on the hill sunday morning at 9am, and it was empty! it was nice, saturday was crowded, nothing crazy but sunday was nice, both days i had lunch at the cafe, just a cup of chili that was good

went up to the lounge in the afternoon for a drink, didnt really care for it so i went to the bar at thistle, much nicer, met a bunch of nice people there and picked up my daughter at ski school who was now skiing the bunny hill : )

stopped by the bonfire at the bungalows, really nice and then headed back to our room for pizza night, the resort delivers to your room

gaylan was my daughters favorite ski teacher, i believe he is still in school but is very energetic and great with kids!

when we got back to our room on sunday we noticed that everyone was gone, our car was just about the only one there and monday morning the slopes were a ghost town, seriously there was no one there!

oh, i would avoid sundays after 1pm, they have a lot of specials for locals so it did get really crowded

didnt have time for the pool, but it looked nice

made it back to chicago in 4 hours and 40 minutes, again an easy drive and no traffic

we had a great trip and would like to return

thanks for everyones help : )

i forgot to mention, we booked last minute and took advantage of the winter white hot ski package, 3 nights at pinehurst and our lift tickets was $381 which included all taxes and fees, amazing deal

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msmejkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
14.7 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
170 reviews
14.9 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
166 reviews
9.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
21.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
23.2 mi away
Caberfae Peaks Ski & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range: $98 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 58 downhill slopes, 25km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing