We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, cozy hotel with bad sheets and ok housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Taylor
Certificate of Excellence
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, cozy hotel with bad sheets and ok housekeeping”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The hotel room itself was quite comfortable. I've stayed here thrice already in their King suite and I found the facilities adequate (free internet available, microwave in room, TV, a fridge that under performs). The downside was that House keeping is so-so. The sheets generally had cigarette burns.

It's quite close to the airport, a mall, a bunch of theaters and several good places to eat. A breakfast place is 25 steps away.

If you are looking to stay for 1-2 days near the airport, this is probably the best place in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    48
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
36
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

was 'stranded' here for 11 days due to weather related work conditions. the staff was exceedingly friendly,helpful, and cognizant of our plight. even tho the area had exceedingly heavy snowfall, the staff kept all walk areas shoveled and salted. the company in charge of keeping the parking lot plowed did an excellent job, going so far as to let us move our vehicles so they could claen out our parking spots. ( i even caught the manager brushing the snow off all the windows of our cars!!!!) YES i will return to this particular RED ROOF INN every time i will need to be in the detroit area. YES, i recommend this RED ROOF INN to everyone staying in the detroit area. a huge thank-you to the management and staff of what i consider a 9 star facility.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizvioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed in the upgraded king room, had a large desk are and was nicely furnished, firm bed, quiet and has free coffee, no food though. If you want easy to find, near the highway and still quiet, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Aloha,
I live in Hawaii and Detroit is my hometown. This Red Roof has become my home when I return for 2-4 weeks each year.

Everyone welcomes me, the rooms are very clean, all the coffee you could want, nice thick towels... and the staff is attentive of my stlye for turing my room into home and office while away.

It's located right next to I75 and I can get into downtown Detroit in 15-20 minutes on I75 . I spend a lot of time in the city...Tiger Games, Hart Plaza, walking around. I can take a leisurely drive down Eureka to Jefferson and enjoy the towns and parks in Wyandotte if heading to Detroit or Trenton if heading south to Grosse Ile where I grew up and get to see best friend at Bishops Cottage B & B and Cafe.

There is a ig Boy right next to the Red Roof... great breakfast any time of day.

Regardless of the time of day I stop by the office to pick up a complimentary USA today or get a cup of coffee whoever is on duty is friendly.

What I really like is the staff has a positive attitude about Detroit. Never heard them say anything negaBive.

I have become a Red Roof fan. I like the complimentary nights I've received for Red Roof member stays.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyTGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hope, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Management was very friendly and easy to chat with when checking in and departing. Rooms were clean, comfortable and cheerful. I especially noticed and liked the red wall accent. The free wi-fi worked fine.

Hotel was easy to find with restaurants nearby and being just a few miles from major highways made travelling quick and easy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doomhead
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Taylor Red Roof Inn. The service was prompt and friendly and the room was clean, quiet and decent size. With the low rate I paid I was expecting much less and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doomhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This is located about 15 minutes south of Detroit - it was late and we wanted a place to crash. This place was perfect - clean, very reasonable with comfortable beds.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spring253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taylor
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Taylor
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
4.1 mi away
Best Western Woodhaven Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor

Property: Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
Address: 21230 Eureka Rd, Taylor, MI 48180-5278
Location: United States > Michigan > Taylor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Taylor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing