We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Historical beauty

It is both called Miclauseni Castle and Strudza Palace and it is indeed a magical place to be. Not... read more

Reviewed April 15, 2018
andreeaminca2000
,
Iasi, Romania
A true experience

I was impressed by Sturdza Castle from Miclauseni because the interior and the exterior is of... read more

Reviewed April 15, 2018
Viorica M
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
8
7
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
7
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2018

It is both called Miclauseni Castle and Strudza Palace and it is indeed a magical place to be.
Not only that it is surrounded by this amazing garden where every single year it is organised a vintage party where you can eat, dress and party like in the 1830's, but the neogotic architecture just takes your breath away.
The whole interior painting on the wall was painted by Strudza's wife and some parts of the paintings can still be seen today. Very beautiful place!

Thank andreeaminca2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

I was impressed by Sturdza Castle from Miclauseni because the interior and the exterior is of extraordinary beauty. The guide is dedicated to the history of the castle, which has attracted our interest in the stories of the place and the people who once lived in this castle. What is interesting to know is that here was an impressive library of tens of thousands of valuable books that was destroyed by Russian soldiers and residents of Miclauseni. I highly recommend visiting this castle!

Thank Viorica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Very lovely place. I had a great time visiting the Castle and learning about the history of the place. The architecture will take your breath away if you are passionate about this kind of things. Can't was until autumn when they host that amazing vintage party.







Thank Andreea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

I have attended the New Year's Party at Miclauseni Castle and it was beautifully organized. The atmosphere was like in the old times, with beautiful music, good food and beautiful people. The neogotic architecture make it a dreamy castle.

2  Thank oanatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

They've really done a great job in restoration and maintenance.

I LOVE the grounds and woods, but the castle is beautiful. There's a nearby gorgeous monastery on the grounds that is worth seeing.

Sadly, I've never managed to be here on many times when the castle was open.

Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016

The guide was the best thing we experienced there. Without the guide, the place is just a castle with pretty architecture.
The second great surprise it was the restaurant near the place. It was closing time when we arrived, but we were served with tea and lemonade. Not too many choices of food and most of them were not available at closing time.
Great, nice garden, very sad and intense history of the castle, it really needs some more money to be in really good shape. It is nice to see that people did what they could with the funds they had.

Thank IM944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelanul, Manager at Sturdza Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2016

Thank you for visiting and giving us a feedback. We will work on improving our food offer :) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

The palace was a big surprise for us, its a big parc amd there are 4 points to see. One of them is the palace: you can visit it inside with a local guide and it's organized hourly. The people are very friendly, i am not sure about their English skills but you can have a perfect shooting here :)

Thank Oanka4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelanul, Manager at Sturdza Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

So glad you like it and thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This is a pretty nice place to visit if you're in the area. Very nice gothic exterior arhitecture, and the surroundings with the forest and the monastery are great to spend a couple of hours. I woul recommend to visit on a sunny day. The interior is not so wow, due to the poor state, but I understand that it will be restored.

Thank stefanprisacariu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelanul, Manager at Sturdza Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank you for visiting and reviewing the Castle. :) We are doing our best to preserve it and restore it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

The palace was an architectural wonder at it's time. it was built over the old mansion of the family. Too bad it was destroyed after the family passed. Hopefully it will be restaurated soon. You must see the palace with the guide. If you see it without it is just an old building that is left to fall down. But if you have the guide the whole thing changes, you will find out about the library, about the hobbies of the inhabitants, the furniture, the art, the solar clock, the bathroom and you will see the castle as the wonder that it was and not the ruined place that is today. Also the estate is very beautiful and filled with many species of trees.
In September there is a historic festival at the castle so i guess that would be nice to see as well.

Thank maciucuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelanul, Manager at Sturdza Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for visiting and reviewing the Castle. We are doing our best to preserve it and restore it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We were amazed by the beautiful architecture and, even though on the inside it's not as spectacular as it is from outside (I was impressed by some parquetry and a beautifully crafted stove), you can tell that efforts are being made to preserve it. Our guide told us that there are plans to further restore the interior. The garden is ideal for a walk after which you can have a meal at their restaurant. Our waiter was ok (although not entirely prepared, we appreciated that they employ people from nearby villages), service time was good and the food was decent (although hasn't met the expectations we had by reading the amazing descriptions they post on facebook).
Also worthy of mentioning is the fact they were very well prepared from a marketing point of view: personalized souvenirs, local products and everything was branded with the castle's logo. Totally recommended for an afternoon weekend getaway.

Thank Dragos_IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelanul, Manager at Sturdza Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank you for visiting and reviewing the Castle. We are doing our best to preserve and restore this place.
The marketing person was especially happy with your review. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews