We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”
Review of Bay Inn Tawas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Inn Tawas
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tawas City
Howell, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Weekend stay during tourist season with reasonable rates. Very quiet and clean rooms. Owner said they dropped the Days Inn, and went independent. Breakfast had eggs, waffles, French toast and was a nice fast breakfast. Didn't use the pool. Room was spacious, very clean and nice and quiet. Parking lot was very large and can accommodate cars with trailered boats.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank R I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
28
12
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice large, quiet, clean room with a comfortable king sized bed and a good nights rest at a reasonable price is what I experienced at the Bay Inn on July 26, 2014. My two brothers who "also" stayed there also agreed with me. We had no problem with a internet connection and the breakfast, while not huge, was adequate. Be aware that they have no elevator for the second floor rooms for those who are handicapped. Overall, I would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Favsanknaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our third time staying here over the Fourth of July. This hotel is always clean. Employees, especially housekeeping are always friendly and accommodating. Continental breakfast is nothing fancy, but good. Employees are constantly overseeing breakfast area to make sure food choices are filled and not empty. There is no smell of smoking in the rooms. I love that they post there is a $150.00 charge if smoking is found in rooms. It's a well kept hotel. Microwave and small fridge. Clean bathroom and shower. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vrj8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

we found bed bugs. we stayed in the crows nest only there for an hour an had to switch room. bed bugs crawling on wall and my boyfriend. spiders everywhere and the door wouldnt shut right. reporting this hotel now that i have to deep clean just to make sure i didnt bring any home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent the night here at Bay Inn on Thursday before starting our week as volunteer lighthouse keepers. The room was very clean and fresh. Beds were comfy and inviting. The pool room was a bit dark and the hot tub wasn't functioning right but that didn't stop us from taking a dip in each. The free breakfast was good but I was disappointed they didn't have my favorite Fruit Loops! All in all, the staff was very helpful and willingly answered our questions promptly. I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jachich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean but the bed was creaky and hard for me. People smoked outside so we could smell it in our room upstairs . The air conditioner and fan in the bathroom was noises. We could NOT get an Internet connection at all.
The price was good but they had to shut the water off as the pool had a leak. We were not told this would happen and when we called they offered to give us keys to use at the hotel next door . We had a wedding to go to so we packed up our stuff and went to a relatives house. No offer of a reduced rate just keys to another hotel.
Walls were paper thin and I could hear people talking next door and outside. Will not stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesapphire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you travel with your pup this is one of the nicest places's to stay in Tawas, The pool is great and they don't charge u a arm and a leg to stay there. The complementary breakfast is also good with many selections to chose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmo5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawas City
12.4 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
88 reviews
14.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
16.5 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in East Tawas
209 reviews
11.1 mi away
No photo provided
Scenic Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
5 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aspen Motor Inn
Aspen Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Inn Tawas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Inn Tawas

Property: Bay Inn Tawas
Address: 1020 W Lake St, Tawas City, MI 48763-9277 (Formerly Days Inn Tawas City)
Location: United States > Michigan > Tawas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tawas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Inn Tawas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 rooms within walking distance of beautiful sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Minutes away from the legendary AuSable River and many other popular local amenities. 60 miles from Saginaw Tri-City airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Inn Tawas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Inn Tawas Hotel Tawas City
Days Inn Tawas City
Tawas City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing