We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heed our warning”
Review of The Vineyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vineyard Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heed our warning”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My wife and I decided to book the Vineyard Inn based on their website, we should have checked Trip Advisor first. When we arrived we needed to wait even though it was already 3 pm for our room to be ready. We had booked what was promoted as a “suite” but in reality it was large room with a couch and a kitchenette. On the surface the room and the inn seemed nice but the details are really what ruined it for us. The shades and the drapes in the room did not cover the windows completely; always nice when you have a large doorwall that faces the bar/restaurant. The bathroom had mold in the tub area and the only lights in the room were on the stove fan and next to the bed. The wall and ceiling were paper thin and you can hear everything from the adjoining rooms (this could be a plus if you are looking for nightly Adult audio entertainment). The only things that were changed or cleaned during our stay were the towels that we had left on the bathroom floor. Their website states that they have a continental breakfast, when we ask about it we were told that they do not offer breakfast. Good luck getting anything done before or after the bar opens/closes, which seems to be whenever the owner feels like stopping by and not any real set hours. We also took the $50.00 bus ride, I mean wine tour, where we were told like others that the tastings were part of the fee. As we had planned to leave early on our check out day we went to the bar (they have no reception area), the night before, to make sure that all of our charges were taken care of and get our final bill. The waitress who was the only person working told us that she did not know how to check people in and out. After 15 minutes of flipping though post-it notes that were our “bill” she then gave us Pam’s number to call her on Tuesday, as Pam (the owner) does not work on Monday, so Pam could send us a bill. Also, keep a eye on your credit card charges if you stay here as they may decide to add charges they forgot after you have left. I have owned my own business for over 25 years and if I treated it the way the owners treat this inn and their customers I would have been out of business long ago. I think the only way they have kept going this long is by preying on the uninformed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Starry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    4
    20
    22
See reviews for
15
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The other reviews of The Vineyard Inn are accurate. The location and natural beauty can't be beat. The water views are incredible. The lush patio and bar area are also beautiful. Unfortunately, the price and customer service make it hard for me to recommend The Vineyard Inn to friends or family. Pam is one of those loud, enthusiastic people that works hard to get your money, but doesn't care about follow through. We took the trolley wine tour, and were told that all tasting costs would be covered. (Why else would we spend $50 per person to visit 4 wineries?) We were also told that we could request the wineries we would visit and the driver would prioritize. Both of these were untrue. Pam said what she needed to to get our money. Other inconsistencies were hard to ignore. For example, the restaurant doesn't have predictable hours. (They close when they feel like it?) The two loft rooms we had were in different stages of remodeling, leaving dangerous tack strips to step on. In short, The Vineyard Inn is beautiful with lots of potential, but in need of new management.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eashaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momence, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We we're there with another couple to celebrate our husbands 60th birthday. We wanted it to be special for them!! We'd read the online negative reviews, but they appeared to be mostly connected to weddings. We thought we'd give it a try. We made reservations for two rooms on the first day we could March 3rd, 2010. I reserved one suite, and one studio. We requested two rooms that were next to each other. Pam said she doesn't guarantee rooms, but would do what she could. Our email confirmation wasn't right, so I called Pam and she explained that she had it correct. I again called her when the online reservation for the rooms didn't appear to be right. She again assured me that as long as HER computer was right, not to worry. When we got there to check in, THEY ONLY HAD ONE ROOM IN THEIR COMPUTER FOR THE 4 OF US!! After all the calls and emails I'd sent Pam had it wrong. Unfortunately, Pam was not there when we checked in so we were finally give probably the two worst rooms. While the patio area was great, the rooms were very musty smelling and the studio was dark, small and right outside the bar area. With the right management and some much needed updating, the place could be fantastic. I'm sure some of the rooms are nice, but ours were not. We talked with Pam about it when she got there, but she just doesn't CARE. She even said to us that she gave us the WALK-IN Rooms. We made reservations FIVE MONTHS earlier. Like I said the place has a huge potential, but we won't be going back unless it's under new management. This place is way overpriced!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suejungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We just wanted to respond to comment titled "Believe the Bad Reviews," - Very well put! We were also recently married at the Vineyard Inn and shared many of the same negative experiences. For those of you thinking of having a wedding weekend at the Vin Inn- we were ALSO told that the negative reviews were from a New York Bridezilla. This is simply not true- Pam (the owner) seems to think this works though! She is completely unprofessional- all of the negative comments others have made ring true to our experience- Go elsewhere

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank jsw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I had read the negative reviews, and my now-husband and I questioned the inn’s owner about them prior to booking our Fall 2009 wedding. We were told that the reviews were from a “New York bride who expected a fancy resort instead of a quaint inn”. Over a year later, the negative reviews keep rolling in, including the one I am about to write. I’ll begin with the positive: the inn is actually very charming. I’ve read reviews about foul odors and cold showers, but the inn was perfect for our needs: clean, quaint and cute with enough space to house our immediate families and wedding party. Everyone loved their rooms, and found them quite charming. HOWEVER, after check-in (which was a disaster…room keys were missing, the rooms, while clean, were not exactly as described online), it was impossible to track down anyone to provide basic housekeeping. While our beds were remade at some point each afternoon, there was a shortage of clean towels. At the price we paid for renting the entire inn for three nights ($7000), the least we should have received was clean towels. The views of Lake Michigan from the rooms are incomparable, and what made the whole experience worthwhile. Our guests enjoyed the lake all day, and the beach bonfires at night. And then there was the bistro/wine bar…great in theory, horrible in execution. The first night of our stay, the owner charged THREE different prices for the SAME drink for the SAME person, and there were plenty of similar stories from our guests. She ran out of change, and told one of our guests that she would have to write him an IOU!! The next day, we did not receive the continental breakfast as promised (this applies to all three mornings there), and when the bistro did open, it offered a very limited menu because many of the items required the use of the wood-stove. We were told that it would take an hour to heat to cooking temperature, and that by then, lunchtime would be over. The night of our wedding was equally stressful. The drink prices that we had received from the owner herself back in December 2008 were suddenly no longer valid 10 months later (after we had provided a list of beverages/prices for the open bar weeks before our arrival at the inn), and the food at the reception differed from what we had ordered. We had also requested plated meals at an additional charge, but were told that we could not do so because of a shortage in staff. Staffing was a consistent problem at the Vineyard Inn. While planning the wedding, we visited the inn thrice, and each time met with a new staff member who we were told would handle the planning, and who either quit or was fired by our next visit. There were two servers working at the inn/bistro/wedding when we checked into the inn, and one (who provided outstanding service the entire time we were there) was fired DURING OUR RECEPTION. I believe the reason she was fired was that she told my father that the owner was ripping him off by overcharging for drinks and opening more wine bottles than necessary. The firing took place right in front of the head table, and we watched the owner grab the server by her arm and give her a shove. Throughout our stay, the owner was difficult and rude. Throughout our wedding planning, we were promised many things (specific pricing, menu options, a completed outside bar that was under construction during our stay, a gratis wine trolley tour) that we simply didn’t receive. This was when we could reach someone to answer our questions; numerous emails and voicemails went unreturned once the deposit check had been cashed. Despite all this, we managed to have a beautiful wedding, thanks to the natural beauty of Suttons Bay and the many wonderful wedding vendors in the area. I read in one bad review about a fruit fly problem, and while there was an extreme number of fruit flies present all weekend, this was true for the entire area and not just the Vineyard Inn. While annoying, they were harmless and far less offensive than the proprietor of the Vin Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UpNorthBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmes6
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

The rooms are overpriced and non-negotiable with the owner. My husband and I were here a day after getting married as a "mini-honeymoon" and received nothing but attitude from the woman who runs the place. She did offer us some wine when we told her of our news but it was not complimentary as she had made it out to be. In fact it was again, overpriced. (A theme for our two day stay at the Vineyard). Our room was located on the bottom level and smelled of cat pee, which upon further review, figured to be mold and mildew. If you have any allergies, do not choose this Inn. The room was spacious and comfortable, but also attracted a swarm of fruit flies, I'm assuming because of the lack of cleaning and all the wine the owner peddles on her guests. Another detail I had never witnessed before was a sign in the room that asked guests to clean up after themselves (because of the lack of staff). I'm still confused how the owner justified charging peak weekend prices for a Sunday and Monday night, but doesn't have a staff? The Inn also advertises itself as having a restaurant, however, we arrived on a Sunday evening around 7pm and were directed to go in to town for dinner because the Vineyard restaurant was closed. We ended up eating gas station burritos and found the restaurant to be closed the entire time we were there. There is plenty of beautiful lodging around Suttons Bay that I will seek out the next time we come to Traverse area. The view was pretty, but that was the only value to be found.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holmes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
6.2 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
78 reviews
16.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
16.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
190 reviews
16.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
18.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vineyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyard Inn

Property: The Vineyard Inn
Address: 1338 N Pebble Beach Dr, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9486 (Formerly The Vineyard Inn on Suttons Bay)
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vineyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vineyard Inn on Suttons Bay and Corky's Beach Bistro combine water and wine to create the perfect backdrop for a memorable get-a-way at this 12-suite, romantic, European style inn, on the sandy shores of beautiful Suttons Bay. All of the suites enjoy stunning lake views and are nicely appointed with kitchenettes. Corky's Beach Bistro is our new on-site, full service restaurant, featuring a lively atmosphere, your favorite fare and libations including our very own French Valley Vineyard's wine, free boat docking and boat moorings, and Leelanau County's only beachfront dining. Choose one of our fun packages: tour the wineries in our limo coach or trolley, hit the links, get the girls together, a romantic getaway, or just relax on the beach. Located just north of downtown Suttons Bay, right on the 45th parallel. Also located at the Vineyard Inn are the offices for Wine Country Weddings and Events, our in-house catering and event company. We offer full catering services to commemorate every event. Weddings, anniversaries, milestone birthdays, vow renewals, rehearsal dinners, and corporate retreats to name a few. You can choose your venue from any one of our three event sites, Crooked Creek Ranch on Lake Leelanua, French Valley Vineyards in the heart of wine country, or The Vineyard Inn on Suttons Bay. We can also come to you with our fully equipped mobile kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Vineyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vineyard Inn On Suttons Bay Hotel Suttons Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing