We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Grand Traverse Bike Tours
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Suttons Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a full-service bike tour company located in the heart of Leelanau Wine Country, just minutes from Traverse City. Our mission is helping visitors to explore the unique beauty and distinct flavors of the Grand Traverse area. We offer a selection of packages ranging from single day winery tours, to self-guided tours and basic bicycle rentals. Experience one of our tours in the company of an expert guide or go on your own with a fully supported self-guided tour. These options allow you to tailor a trip to your own schedule, style, and purpose. We are also Suttons Bay's and Leelanau County's bicycle shop and outdoor adventure center. Let us meet your cycling needs and more, with our excellent line of bicycles, full-service bicycle repair, and bike, kayak, and paddleboard rentals. As a year round destination we offer sales and rentals of cross country skis, backcountry skis, and snow shoes.
Ithaca, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I seldom ride bicycles, but because there was so much to see on the Leelanaut Trail, we decided to rent bikes from Suttons Bay Bikes. They had great bikes, were very helpful in getting us started, and were very fair in the rental fees. It was a great experience to ride the trail through some beautiful countryside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft Wayne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A different wine tour”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did the self guided wine tour and really enjoyed ourselves. Although it did feel like we peddled up hill both ways at times! We are from the relatively flat lands of Indiana and were not used to Northern Michigan "rolling" hills. The TART trail we rode one was wide and had very pretty scenery. Since it was early fall, the air was filled with the wonderful aroma of ripe apples all along the trail. Nick, at the bike company, was really nice and helpful. We peddled to 4 wineries along the trail. Nick delivered a big and delicious picnic lunch to us at Shady Lane winery. He also stopped by the wineries we made purchases at and retrieved our bottles. The bikes were in good shape, Treks. We got to keep our water bottles as a souvenir. We are hoping to give their Microbrewery Bike tour a try next time we are in the area. Here's to wishing Nick much success!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mcconnell46788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Day - Best Way to Visit the Wineries”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I are not frequent bikers, but are interested in doing so in the future. Our test drive was to go with our best friends and family members (avid tandem riders) and do a self-guided tour of the local wineries. This help limit how much you could drink and drive (literally). Buying wine was easy, as they pick it up for you and have it waiting when you return.

This was amazing... they fitted us with bikes and helmets and sent us on the easy riding path. It was largely flat, but felt more downhill on the way back, perfect for those not in the best of physical shape (see photo). Warning: Black Star Farms is an expert level ride once you get off the path!

The deli lunch was not typical. It was a gourmet feast (more than anyone could eat) and the picnic basket presentation was top notch. Shady Lane Cellars and that lunch make a perfect setting for a wedding proposal.

The self-guided tour was $59 pp and was worth every dime if you plan on buying more than a bottle of wine and having lunch. You won't find a better lunch along the trail. If not, you can rent the bike for the day for $30 and bring you own lunch to save a few bucks. Note bikes have a carry bag that could possibly carry one bottle of wine if you are careful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank macleandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun day with a great lunch and excellent service!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Four of us did the self-guided wine tour in summer 2012 and a really amazing day we are still talking about! The service from the bike shop was excellent from start to finish: the bike pick-up went smoothly, they helped us choose how much we wanted to bike and which wineries fit best, planned our lunch for us, and set us off on our day.

The routes were easy to follow and a beautiful ride, and the wineries were very accommodating. When we arrived at the winery where we planned to have lunch, the bike shop had already beaten us there and set up a great spread. The food was excellent!

In the end we had a really, really great day, and looking forward to doing a similar trip this summer (2013!). Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mattr789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Bike Tours also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing