We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boone's--Never again”

North Country Grill and Pub
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Hand cut prime rib, freshest seafood available. Large out door patio and bar. Key West outdoor seating available in the summer months. Cozy fireplace in the winter. Finest Leelanau wine list. We do not take reservations due to our small seating capacity.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

In the prior two years my family has eaten at Boones during our week-long stay at a cottage in Omena. The first year we dined outside in back and the second year we were seated at a large table inside. Both experiences were positive, and the food was respectable and reasonably priced.

As we have a large group (12, including two children) we have always tried to get a reservation. This year my brother called twice to see if we could secure something. Both times he was told to show up and they would accommodate us if possible. When we arrived at 6 pm, the place was packed and it was clear we couldn't get a seat inside. As we debated whether we wanted to sit in 90 degree heat plus high humidity out back, the owner/manager got increasingly hostile and rude. She told my sister-in-law to "shut the front door" and to "quit blocking traffic". If you've ever been in Boone's you will know that there is practically no room to wait inside and it wasn't my sister-in-law who was blocking the door, but rather some people from another disgruntled group. Three people in our group were in their mid-80s and so moving outside would have really dampened their experience.

Fortunately, Martha's (across the street) was much more accommodating and found us some tables to sit outside until two large tables could be arranged inside, which took only 5-10 minutes. The food at Martha's is certainly several steps above Boone's fare and, although more expensive, well worth the price from main course to dessert.

I realize that many restaurants dislike reservations because of no-shows. However, I do think that a non-refundable "retainer" could be charged to a credit card to hold a place for large groups such as ours.

My rating of food/value is based on our first two trips. Atmosphere and service is based on all three with extra weight given to our most recent attempt to dine at Boones.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 650Mark650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelleide, Guest Relations Manager at North Country Grill and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We apologize for your disappointment with North Country Grill upon your last visit here. After reading your review, we would like to emphasize that we do not take "reservations" due to our small seating capacity. We do however take your name and add you to our list of people that are currently waiting for a table as well as other parties that have called like you did. We do our best to accommodate everyone on that list in a timely fashion. We can't secure an exact time for anyone.
As for your experience with whom ever was working at the door at the time, we again apologize for their insensitive and short nature, especially with the elderly in your party.
As for your first 2 visits -"both experiences were positive and respectable" I would encourage you and your family to give us another try, we would hope that one bad experience would not cause you to never come back. We hope you change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for North Country Grill and Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Boones is a must. They are right on the corner as you enter town. The steaks are fantastic and the prices reasonable. This is a must go place every time I am in the Traverse City area. This corner establishment is not affiliated with the other Boones Restaurant s/w of Traverse City. Worth the small drive to get there.

Thank MotorCityMama77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went here before the fireworks in Northport and even though it was almost closing time they accommodated us. My london broil was just above average but my girlfriend's whitefish was excellent. Fried pickles were quite good. Our server Amy was very attentive. The patio was comfortable and had a small tv for Tigers updates. That and Crooked Tree IPA on tap made us happy campers!

1  Thank DJRobNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food was just delicious. If you want to go to some local food joint this is a great choice. Just keep in mind that the serving portion is quite generous and sufficient for two.

Thank Amruta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

They have a wonderful outside bar with seating for dinner. Good thing we got there around 5 because by 5:30, there was a wait. Had Mussels and shrimp. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ghoag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Country Grill and Pub also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to North Country Grill and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing