We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Black Star Farms
Ranked #2 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my birthday this year. We really had high expectations of Black Star Farms and could not wait to stay here! However, little things added up and we ended up being a bit disappointed on the overall experience when we left. We are not by any means picky people either, we just feel that you should get what you pay for.

It's true what you read and see, this place is beautiful! We loved just sitting out on the porch, taking in the views. The breakfasts are very gourmet, beautiful and delicious. The wine tasting next door was fabulous. We've been to their tasting room quite a few times before, but being guests we were able to experience it a little differently.

I'm just going to list a few things that bothered us during our stay (Capella room):
-A hot room (and Inn for that matter) when we arrived. It took quite a while for the room to cool down once we turned on the AC unit
-A really awful bed. The overall bed frame was extremely wobbly and was quite a bit larger than the mattress size. They did try to fix it the next day but it didn't help. We both didn't sleep well and woke up sore. I think a feather bed on top of the mattress would have helped us.
-Staff that didn't know much about the area close by, only Traverse City. We even asked about the hiking trails on site and she didn't know much about them.
-The restaurant was closed while we stayed, which didn't leave any options to eat on site other then the Cafe, which happened to be closed more then open while we were there. Our last night we ended up at the closest grocery store before they closed at 8p so we could pick up something to eat, which ended up being micro pizzas.
-The muffins we tried our first morning were hard and stale.
-The 'Spa' room shower on the second floor was not fully functional. One side of the wall jets did not work at all

Those are just some of the little things that bothered us, not all of them. We didn't expect absolute perfection, but when we pay $400 a night we do expect a bit of it. Or at least want to walk away feeling like it was. Overall, we did enjoy ourselves and would return to give it another shot. We really would love to experience what many others have here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpartyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackstarfarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. We strive to provide consistently exceptional experiences, so feedback like yours is vital. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. The timing of your stay may have contributed to the temperature of your room and the Inn. We were experiencing record high temperatures around the area, as has been much of the region this summer. We are proud to provide individual air conditioning for each room, and I am glad that the unit in your room was able to catch up. We plan to look into what else we can do to tighten the iron bed frame, as the adjustments promptly made by our maintenance staff did not meet your satisfaction. We will explore the possibility of featherbeds for our guestrooms, as the mattress in your room was new as of March 2012. Our maintenance staff has been alerted that the sauna room shower is not fully operational, and will move it to his priority list. I'm sorry for this. We will continue to educate our newer staff with regard to our property's amenities and what the area has to offer. I hope that the Trail Map that you were provided helped a bit. We will also be more proactive in showing guests our restaurant menu binder in the lounge, in the hope that others will find better quality dining and avoid your experience. Thank you also for your comment regarding the breakfast fare. We passed along your review to our exectuive chef and we will correct this problem immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback. Without it, we cannot improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We wanted to go somewhere that offered something different that was exceptional for our 30th anniversary. We found it at Black Star Farms! The inn was beautiful, the staff were friendly and attentive and the setting was very serene! We got what we were looking for and more! Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfasts were different every day, were well prepared, made fresh when we arrived and were excellent! Our experience was outstanding and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The Polaris room was very comfortable and had a private back entrance near where we parked our car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleprince1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I just came back from the Inn at Black Star Farms. It was our second trip to the Inn and was as wonderful the first time we stayed here. Rooms and grounds are beautiful. Food was excellent, if you have the opportunity to have dinner here I highly recommend it. Staff is friendly and attentive. Best of all is the unlimited wine tasting with a short walk back to you room and the happy hour at the Inn. Definitely will visit again.

Room Tip: Mira is the only room with a kitchen. Also is on the ground floor with a rear entrance you can driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Black Star Farms is located right off M22, one of the USA's most scenic stretch of highway. The grounds are beautiful and rows of grapevines greet your entry to the property. The Inn is a stunning Kentucky style building with a large porch with large columns. My husband and I were stunned before we even got out of the car. As you enter the foyer of the Inn you see a large winding staircase and marble floors; the interior is equally as beautiful. We were greeted by Jill and shown right to our room, we didn't even have to sit down or sign anything, that was great!

Our room was on the first floor and was like a small apartment, including a full kitchen. I choose this room so we would have a refrigerator and could bring food for lunches and snacks and drinks. We also had our own back entrance and parking area. I loved these features. We backed our car right up to the bedroom door to unload (and load). The room was beyond fantastic, plenty of room to stretch out and relax without having to just sit on your bed or in a "decorative" chair, as is so often the case. Coffee/tea was delivered to the table outside our door at 7:30 every morning, what a treat! The room was A++

The food and service were also A++. Our first treat, afternoon snacks. On our first day the snacks were chocolate eclairs and chocolate dipped rice krispie treats. We LOVE our afternoon coffee and it was a short walk to the kitchen for fresh coffee. Day 2 brought cream puffs and a sponge cake type of muffin/cupcake. Yummy! Every evening we had a hospitality hour which included appetizers and wine. Each night had two food offerings, including quesadillas that were awesome. There were several wine offerings and a wine on tap that was always available to guests. But as wonderful as these food offerings were, the highlight was breakfast! As you walked into the kitchen area the chef would start preparing your entree. While he did so you were greeted with several fresh juice choices, yogurt, fresh fruit, granola, and various home made breads and sweet breads. This would have been enough, but a few minutes later you were treated to a gourmet breakfast that was to die for!! An absolute treat!!

Also included with your stay is an expanded wine tasting at their tasting room. What an experience! This was also fabulous, and such fun.

I cannot say enough about the room, food, service, beautiful grounds, and the people at the Inn at Black Star Farms. Truly an experience to be savored. I fully understand why they are in the Select Registry, and well deserved!! We WILL return. (Oh, and they give perks for returning guests!) I couldn't believe the Inn at Black Star Farms is #2 on TripAdvisor, I cannot imagine anything could top this B&B!

Room Tip: Two rooms are on the first floor and have a separate rear entrance. One of the two has a full kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaelicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just spent the Memorial Weekend at Black Star Farms. Have to say I was a little reluctant to go to a bed a breakfast and will tell you my impression has completely changed! They had amazing service and Really cared about my experience! The room was AMAZING!! The Food was AMAZING!! I am a foodie and a snob when it comes to resorts. Black Star Farms not only met my expectations but well exceeded it!! Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatmandew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn at Black Star for the last 10 years. We have yet to be disappointed and are continually amazed at their hospitality and gourmet breakfast. Love the happy hour, wine in the room and the great hiking trails as well. Keep up the good work and continue to offer a great value as well!

Room Tip: Any and all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Inn at Black Star Farms provided a very personalized, relaxing and flavorfull experience ~ even the drive in to the Inn was wonderful. The Diadem room was beautiful ~ the fireplace and sitting area were MOST inviting and romantic after touring the grounds ~ wine tasting, cheese store and horse arena. "Our" appetizer plate was a wonderful adjunct to their wines. Breakfast was personally served by the chef who was knowledgeable about the areas resources. All the staff (Kellie, Jill, John, Cary and Don Coe) from arrival to departure were very friendly and gracious. We're ager to return for a longer stay and utilize more of their offerings!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and secluded... Easily reached by the back stairs, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exercise23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
8.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
13.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
216 reviews
3.2 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
M-22 Inn Suttons Bay
M-22 Inn Suttons Bay
#1 of 2 in Suttons Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Black Star Farms

Address: 10844 E Revold Rd, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range: $225 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate escape in the heart of Leelanau Peninsula Wine Country where you will feel comfortable, pampered, and renewed. Our distinctive Bed & Breakfast Inn nestled below a hillside of vineyards and overlooking barns and pastures, features ten luxurious guestrooms with an exceptional package of amenities. Every overnight stay package includes a gourmet, farm-fresh breakfast, nightly hospitality hour with wine and hors d’oeuvres, a bottle of our house wine, and a VIP tasting at our exclusive onsite Barrel Room, a value of $120! In addition guests receive discounts on tasting room purchases, dining at the Hearth & Vine Café (seasonal), private use of our sauna room, and access to our hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Black Star Farms Hotel Suttons Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing